Pork Chalupas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Easy and delicious. I followed the exact recipe except that I cut it in half. It still made tons of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I have to be honest, I was very disappointed with the end result. It smelled really good cooking in the slow cooker all day, and with 4.5 stars I was expecting it to taste good. It was WAY too salty for one thing. Too runny to put in a flour tortilla. My kids wouldn't eat it. This is the first recipe on here that I've not liked. Will not be making this again. Big waste of money and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This was absolutely awesome! My entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
A really good and simple recipe. The only thing's I did different was omit the salt and cooked the roast in the oven, cut it up in chunks, and added to the beans the last three hours. Made burritos with fresh flour tortillas, topped with red chile, shredded colby cheese, lettuce, diced tomato, fresh guacamole and sour cream. Served with Spanish rice on the side. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I don't understand why so many of you are giving this recipe such high marks when there are clearly two major flaws: 1) the salt issue, you all say it is way too salty (and I agree), and 2) beans should not be cooked in salt, or they won't soften--it should be added at the end. Please stop rating based on your changes to the recipe and just rate the original recipe. With this many negative remarks, does it really deserve a 4.5 star rating? I think not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Great recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Great dish! We loved it :) I add guacamole to give it some additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mzhelaineous

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Desert Hot Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
We liked this. It does make a lot as someone else posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Used a 4.5 lb pork loin roast but otherwise followed the recipe. As another reviewer mentioned, I thought there was too much liquid at the end of the cooking time but after the roast was shredded and returned to the pot, not so much so. I boiled the beans (in a pan on the stove) for two minutes, removed them from the burner, added the seasonings and peppers, let that sit for one hour, and then dumped everything over the meat in the crockpot. This is truly one of those dishes that does not need to be attended and can cook all day (probably). I was at home and couldn't keep from poking and prodding! But I think you could put this on in the morning and let it cook all day; when you get home from work, take the meat out and let it cool while you change clothes or whatever, then shred and return to the pot. By the time you get the table set, the meat and beans will be ready! I did not add salt until the end (1 tsp). Next time I would like to try a bit less cumin and a bit more chili powder, and perhaps adding something a tiny bit more spicy, as although this dish had a good flavor, not much spice at all. I added the salt at the end based on others' recommendations that the beans won't cook to soft if the salt is added. I've heard the same thing about tomatoes. Also because I didn't want too much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
My family all raved about how great it smelled while it was cooking. My husband kept saying while he was eating it that he needed to stop eating, he was over eating, but he couldn't help himself. The only thing I'll do different next time is I'll use about a half TBSP less salt. We served it in flour tortillas with cilantro and corn salsa which highlighted the flavors beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States