Pork Chalupas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
delicious! instead of the green chiles i used a 12 oz. jar of green salsa. cut the chile powder in half, and added a diced red bell pepper for color. soaking the beans overnight is a good idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This is awesome! I've made it 4 times and everyone just loves it. I will admit that I have a shortcut and swap out the dried beans for canned beans. It reduces the cooking time, and there's no chance of the beans not being quite done. LOVE IT, LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
this is a new family favorite! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This was delicious and so easy! I did soak my beans overnight to ensure they were cooked thoroughly, and since I don't like things too hot I only used 1 TB chili powder and substituted 1 TB taco seasoning for the other one. Watch out though--this does make a lot! A great recipe for having guests over (or to freeze leftovers for later).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISSA771
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I like the recipe but add 7oz. chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and substitute two cloves of fresh garlic for the garlic powder. I skip the salt and serve over Nacho Cheese Doritos (tried tortillas first) with sour cream, avocado, ripe olives, fresh tomatoes, cheddar and lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Great flavor and very easy. My only change is to use vegetable broth in place of the water. Make sure ALL of the beans are covered with the broth or they will not cook evenly. Everyone I make this for loves it; it is one of our all time favorite recipes from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This is absolutely delicious! We had plenty of leftovers and those were even more delicious! I served this with hard tostado shells which added a little crunch, with iceberg lettuce, cheese, tomatoes and sour cream on top. It was a hit all around. Don't be concerned about the dry pinto beans. With the chicken broth that I used, and the time in the slowe cooker they soften up and make a wonderful gravy just perfectly. Instead of all water I used a 32 oz package of chicken broth and enough water to cover the roast after that. I also used fresh garlic cloves, chopped. I didn't lift the cover after five hours because it looked like there was plenty of liquid in there and I wanted to keep the heat in. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Butcher

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I love this recipe. I've made it a few times now, with both pork roasts and beef roasts (boneless round). It makes a ton of food and leftovers are a great topping for nachos and even pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I make this over and over! Everybody likes it, and it feeds a crowd. I like to add a little fresh cilantro and lime to it when I serve it. Don't out the cilantro in the pot with it though, or it will get a soapy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith Allesi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
WOW! I can't believe how easy and delicious this meal is! We actually ate it as a soup one night because there is a lot of good broth in it too. I've had it as a chalupa twice and in my omelet this morning. YUMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodiJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange and Milk-Braised Pork Carnitas

Make Chef John's perfect batch of tender carnitas today!

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States