Pork Chalupas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
We LOVED this. I followed the directions to a t except I only had 1 can of green chilies and wasn't going to go to the store for the other 2. Can only imagine it makes this a little tastier:) I'm not sure what size shoulder I got, but it was on special. I wasn't sure how the beans would cook and I was a little leery that they would even soften up and be edible. I did have to replenish the water after 4.5 hours and it seemed the beans all of a sudden soaked up all the liquid. Glad I was around to refill. That fact may make it difficult to do this dish in the crock pot and be away from home all day. I cooked mine on low for 10 hours. The meat was delicious and oh so tender, but the beans, to die for. I think the fat and flavoring must really get into the beans as they slow cook. I could eat a whole pot of just the beans. This makes a TON of food. I'm going to freeze some of it before my DH turns into a Chalupa! He has eaten this every meal since I have made it because he likes it. One more thing, if you refrigerate this you can easily skim the fat off the top. Shoulder is a fatty cut and what makes this taste so darn good. Thanks Fanifergus I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Very good! Used the pork on top of my salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quinnellope1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishop, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Absolutely fantastic!! I had a larger roast, and crock pot isn't to big so I just cooked some of the bean chili mix on the stove. This is a wonderful dish and it is so simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by googirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
this recipe is awesome!!! my boyfriend, kids, and i loved it! the meat and beans had so much flavor it was unbelievable. the recipe says to put enough water to almost cover the roast. well for me it was about 6 cups...but that was way too much. the beans never soaked up all the liquid. it was fine though...i just scooped the beans out. it does make ALOT of meat/bean mixture. i'll have to freeze the leftovers. next time i make this i'll try adding some rice in with it. deff an awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aubrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
very very yummy! was looking for a new idea and this hit the spot. i have never cooked a pork roast. we ate this with sour cream and cheese on the tortilla. then made cilantro lime rice to go along with it. will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
We loved this recipe ! So much flavor, it was just about perfect !! I added some cayenne pepper and onion to spice it up just a tad more :) Thanks we will be making this many times .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is absolutely delicious - it got rave reviews from the adults AND the teenagers. We prepared it exactly as the recipe stated, and we served it with shredded lettuce, cheese and sour cream, just like a taco. We've already decided it would be a good dish for a potluck...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Used about half the amount of salt. Soaked the beans overnight and they turned out great. Served layered with Fritos at the bottom then meat mixture then toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Sorry, but I have to echo everyone else - my God, this makes a lot. My family of 5 ate this and we still have about a frillion lbs left. Very good though, seriously. I added 2 serrano peppers at the beginning and added about 1/2 cup of green salsa after shredding the pork. I had no problem with the beans cooking, but I completely covered the meat with water. I could've used less as I poured off a lot when it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This was fantastic... made it at Christmas time when lots of family around and this really does make a LOT! We ate chalupas for days, but it was so good we did not mind! Topped with guacamole, cheese, black olives and salsa... rave reviews from everyone! Also tried freezing some, and it was still great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States