Pork Chalupas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This recipe is easy to prepare, and the spiciness is so good! I cut way back on the salt, and it wasn't missed as the other spices made up for it. Served with sour cream rice, also from this site. My husband thinks this would be great in a rice bowl like at Chipotle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Excellent in tortillas, corn or flour. Also great over rice... a good way to stretch it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
My family really enjoyed this meal. It definately makes a lot. I added a packet of taco seasoning at the end of cooking to thicken up the broth. Next time I will probably only put a half of a pound of beans instead of the full pound.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Blankenship Reno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by andray68
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was awesome and so easy! I added 2 10oz. cans of tomatoes and green chili's that I had on hand instead of just plain green chilies. That was the only substitution I made. I was scared to put the beans in with out at least a soak but I did and they were tender and yummy. Everyone loved it and I have enough leftover for lunch for my dh tomorrow and a full dinner another night. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andray68

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Excellent, I made this just as the resipe calls for and wouldn't change a thing! It is just my husband and me in our household. I had it for lunch two days later, still had enough to freeze half of it and will get dinner for both of us again and a second lunch out of it too. Very tasty and easy. I am going to try it with beef and or chicken sometime too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Really good! Makes a ton...leftovers for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clifford Randall Lyde

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hobart, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Be prepared to feed an army! This recipe feeds A LOT! I am rating this a 3 star due to the excessive salt the first time I made it. 2nd time I made it, I soaked the beans overnight and then proceeded to follow the recipe using pork roast loin to help cut down on the fat. Added an extra tablespoon of garlic powder, 1/2 tablespoon of ancho chili powder and 1/4 cup of dried minced onion and let it cook adding 1 tablespoon of garlic salt in place of the regular salt at the end. Thought it was going to have to much liquid, but after shredding the meat and adding back to the crockpot, it was just perfect! TWO SIDE NOTES: 1.) Adding a potato while cooking will take the gassiness out of beans! 2.) Adding salt BEFORE the beans finish cooking guarantee they will remain hard - wait until the end to add your salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
400 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hothilary36
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
totally awesome flavor. I did not have any dried beans so here is what I did. Cooked pork in green chilies (2 cans) and salsa (1 cup) with just enough water to come to the edge of the roast. Set you roast on a layer of sliced onion. Start on high for 30 minutes, drop to low for 5 hours. Removed roast and shredded, added 2 cans pinto beans to mixture and added shredded meat into same, reheated for about 1 hour on low. This is awesome served on rice with cheese and sour cream. Also a pork shoulder is really large, so I used a pork tenderloin, still turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
This was SO good! My whole family loved it. We had it on a busy weeknight, and it worked out great. We will make this again! Thanks for the great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
A very good and versatile recipe! I didn't have pinto beans on hand so I used dried black beans instead and it turned out great. In the past I have had trouble cooking beans until I learned there is a secret to it - don't add the salt until the beans are completely done or they will stay rock hard! I therefore cooked the beans and then my hubby added the salt. Here is why this recipe didn't get 5 stars....it was waaaaaaay too salty! When I cook a pound of beans, I add at the most, 1 T salt. My husband added the salt and he dumped 2 T in as stated in the recipe and it pretty much ruined the dish. I love the flavor so next time, I will add 1 T salt at the end of the cooking, stir, let it bubble for 15 minutes or so then taste and IF more is needed, add it teaspoonful by teaspoonful, carefully tasting after each addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinka G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 233) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States