Pork Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Wow, is the word that comes in mind to best describe these carnitas! I made the recipe exactly as printed. My only change was to add about three tablespoons of cilantro to the broth while boiling the pork. We had a 3 & 1/2 pork butt for four of us. Not much left over! Thank you Nette for the great recipe. This goes into the keeper book for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Simple and delicious. My husband who is a picky eater loved it. We are going to try something similar with beef. We are going to modify the recipe buy using beef roast and beef broth for shredded beef tacos next
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
YUM!! I only used 2tbs of salt, but otherwise followed exactly. These are awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Bazemore-Gardner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Just made these tonight for dinner and they were awesome! Followed the recipe exactly but added more garlic. I thought the meat would dry out too much in the oven, but if you put on a good amount of sauce every ten minutes as stated and more at the end it's great! We served these on corn tortillas with chopped white onion and cilantro and a squirt of lime. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Yummy! Just took out of oven and followed recipe except I boiled broth down about half to concentrate flavor. Now will make flour tortillas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I was leery about 3 tablespoons of salt. Basically, it ruined the meat. No amount of cheese or burrito wrapping made this recipe edible. Next time, I'll start with one tablespoon and go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April S

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I wasn't so sure about baking the meat to make it "crispy" but da-gone-it, it's fantastic! The meat is super flavorful without spicy heat so even the kids enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GANGWISH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I'm glad I read Nette's review of her own recipe before making this. I used the whole bulb of garlic, as she said in the review, and I always use low-sodium chicken broth then salt to taste. Ours definitely wasn't overly salty. It was perfect. The key is definitely the last step in the oven to crisp the edges of the meat. It made the carnitas so much better than the ones I usually make in the crockpot. I served with warm tortillas, homemade guacamole and pico. This one will be put into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BBman
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I started and finished in the smoker rather browning on the stove, shredded on the smoker instead of oven. Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States