Pork Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I must say that this recipe is fantastic. My wife and I are from California but live in Germany currently, where one can not buy carnitas at a restaurant. I tried this recipe and it felt like being at our favorite little Mexican cantina in California. I added juice from a orange to the braising liquid. I also saw the correction for bulb of garlic and not a clove. Browning and basting the meat in the oven gave the carnitas wonderful color and texture. Enough said! I like this recipe so much that I am cooking this for a lunch time fund raiser at the high school where I work. Carnitas, cilantro, onions, lime, and a splash of your favorite brand of salsa picante, served on a warmed corn tortilla... Mark
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
This was an outstanding tasting, simple to prepare recipe. I didn't have a lime so I used the juice of two small tangerines, it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
The 3 Tablespoons of salt make this meat un-eatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I prepared the recipe exactly as Nette suggested but added a cup of sugar. This balanced out the salty taste nicely. It was FABULOUS! Very flavorful and soooo tender. Thanks for the recipe, Nette. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
The recipe was GREAT. A bit to salty & chili was a bit overpowering. Also, as a bit of a change, I used a pressure cooker for 20 minutes instead of simmering for 2-1/2 hours - turned it into a pretty quick meal. I also cut down on the broth since it doesn't boil off in a pressure cooker. I only used 32 oz of broth and still ended up with a lot of liquid, which I thickened & used as a sauce. Outstanding! I will be using this recipe as a baseline in the future. Nette is right on that the final step in crisping it up is critical. A watchful eye under a broiler worked well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is a very nice and easy recipe for Carnitas. I cut the chicken broth to one can. Wonder if it is a typo as the cooking broth was sooo yummy. I was surprised at how flavorful as I kept with the seasonings pretty close. I think the only other change I made to the Carnitas was the garlic. I like to use my three finger scoop method from a jar of minced garlic to many of my meat dishes that call for grlic.. Next time I'm going to add a bit of beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Janet Henderson
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was very good though I did cut back on the salt. I also added a jalapeno and Cilantro since I had some growing in the garden. Once it was done and shredded it I skimmed some of the fat off the reserved liquid and put it in a fry pan and tossed the meat into it to get crispy. Oh my that was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Henderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I made this over the weekend for a Mexican/Spanish inspired potluck that we hosted. Because of time and the ridiculous humidity that we were having, I decided to make this in the crock pot. I browned the meat before putting it in the crock, used all of the ingredients exactly as stated, and cooked it on high for 10 hours. We had a 4.3lb pork shoulder and 10 hours was the perfect amount of time. I opted not to put the finished carnitas in the oven to "crisp up" as the original instructions directed, although when I have more time I will definitely add this step! The result was a delicately flavored, moist, fall-aparty (like my word? lol), porky treat. We served them with the traditional carnitas fixin's of cilantro, tomatoes, red onions, and lime; but we also added salsa, guac, fried onions, various cheeses, and sour cream to the table, for the non-traditional. We served small flour tortillas and cilantro lime rice with this, which were equally great as a vessel for the pork. Everyone seemed to really enjoy it and there were hardly any leftovers. My only suggestion would be to add a little more chili powder or some thing similar to up the spice level (if you're into spicy these really were not spicy at all, but that could have been due to cooking in the crock pot as well). Next time I'm going to follow the exact cooking method which I'm sure will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I made this and it was spectacular. I eyed the amounts and also by taste. I was skeptical about it crisping in the oven but it did!! I had wonderful carnitas, moist on the inside and crispy outside. I made some pico de gallo and warmed up some corn tortillas, it was perfect. The seasoning is perfect I didn't change or add anything. Huge hit for my family and even my 3 yr old granddaughter loved them. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Delicious. I use slightly less salt and don't salt the meat again before browning in the oven, but otherwise I don't alter the recipe. I also try to pare off as much fat as possible before cooking, since this has the potential to be VERY greasy (there's still plenty of fat after removing most of it). Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States