Pork Butt Roast with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
Very easy, very good. I seared this as directed then put it in the crock pot and let it cook for 7 hours. Used 2 cans of vegetable broth and 1 lb. bag of baby carrots and 2 lbs of tiny new potatoes. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
300 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chestertown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This is a very good base recipe. I crusted the pork with seasoning salt (Hye's is amazing if you can get it), celery salt, pepper, onion and garlic powder, and a bit of poultry seasoning. I then added some olive oil to a pan and seared the roast on sides and ends. Then I put bay leaf in my roasting pan and set the pork on top of that. Topped it with onion and put onions and celery in the pan, then added chicken broth. Covered with foil and roasted at 300. Kept the mushrooms whole and added baby carrots at the end. The broth is so good it makes a lovely gravy or base for pork noodles the next day (shred the pork and serve buffet style with soy sauce, noodles, thin sliced celery and green onion and add a bit of the heated broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Absolutely delicious! Tender and juicy. I used a 3 3/4# roast and rubbed it with Montreal Steak Seasoning rather than the salt,pepper,and garlic powder. I did use the onions, but no other vegetables. Also, I used 3 1/2c. of chicken broth along with 1c. of water. Roast was cooked perfectly in 2 1/2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saranac Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Moira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
So tender and moist! To further flavor the roast, I slivered 3 cloves of garlic, made slits in the roast and stuffed garlic slivers and fresh rosemary in them the night before cooking. Once the roast was cooked, I used 1 cup of chicken broth and a pork gravy packet to make gravy to serve over the roast and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Made this for some friends and was told this is one of the best roasts they have ever had. I only had a 3 lb roast, so I cut all the ingredients in half and cut an hour off the cook time. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
THIS WAS VERY GOOD!iUSED CHICKEN BROTH INSTEAD OF WATER .BUTTERFLIED MY ROAST AND SEASONED IT THEN TIED IT BACK TOGETHER.AS I ADDED THE VEGETABLES AI SEASONED THEM WITH SALT AND PEPPER.IT CAME OUT PERFECT.I ALSO COOKED IN A 300 DEGREE OVEN INSTESD OF 350 FOR THE SAME AMOUNT OF TIME.THAKS ,ROSE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
i did almost everything in the, except i stuck it into a oven bag. Such a yummy roast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my3littlangls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lee, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
So moist and tender -- the meat just fell apart! I'm going to add BBQ sauce to the leftovers to make pulled pork sandwiches. My only suggestion would be to add more seasoning for greater flavor -- perhaps stud with garlic or fennel seeds and salt generously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
The recipe's ingredients looked bland to me, but after reading all the positive reviews, I thought I'd give it a try. I found it very tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This was wonderful!! The meat was so tender that you didn't need a knife at all. It takes a while, but it is soooo worth it!! I'll definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durant, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States