Pork Butt Roast with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
Delicious! The only thing I'll do different next time is to fill the pan less than 2/3 full with water, used large dutch over and after filling it 2/3 full with water and covering it the juices would have spilled out of the pan if I hadn't removed some before adding the vegetables(remember the pan is covered and the steam creates more liquid). Wouldn't change any thing else, used water only , no broths. After removing the veggies and meat from the pan boiled juices down to about !/2 to concentrate them and made a delicious gravy. It was great the next day too and I froze the left over gravy to have with pork tenderloin or broiled pork chops since there's never enough juice from them to make gravy.Thanks Kmitschke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
Great recipe. Used two cans of beef broth plus water. My family loved this recipe. The roast was incredibly tender. If you want more than a couple of cups of liquid for gravy you should probably add additional water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
After 4 hours of cooking, my 7 lb roast was overdone. I'll try it again and this time monitor the temperature more closely. But the flavor was great, and even overcooked it was still juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
My family loved this recipe and it was very easy to do. The roast was tender and juicy. I substituted quartered baking potatoes for new potatoes and added celery. A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This is *so* good. I was generous with the seasoning for the meat before I seared it. I used vegetable broth and some beef boullion cubes for most of the broth and it was really good. Mmmmmm! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I used one can of beef broth and one can of vegetable broth instead of the water called for in the recipe, and ended up adding some water about halfway through cooking. But I ended up with a fairly good base for gravy, which I made by heating it to a boil and adding a slurry of cornstarch and water. The veggies were perfectly cooked, and the roast was tender and good. I might've like a little bit more spices on the roast, but other than that it was great. I served it to company along with the "Unbelievable Rolls" from this site, and a salad. I didn't use any mushrooms, and used less onion than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Very good. Extremely tender. Very tasty. Left out the mushrooms because my husband hates them. Also seasoned the roast with Montreal Steak seasoning before searing it. I only used a 3lb. roast so cooked it about an hour less than recommended and used half the other ingredients and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
This was excellent. My family loved it. I did what others said and used beef broth in place of water. I will be making this often, especially when I have company I want to impress. OOH LA LA!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loonylisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
Fabulous Recipe! Crowd Pleaser, simple and the meat was absolutely wonderful ~ tender and moist. This is a keeper and repeater. Thank You for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Had unplanned company (besides parents) and everyone LOVED this! What a tender and moist roast! Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States