Pork Butt Roast with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This recipe was so moist...I couldn't believe it. I did use other review tips to make it. I used beef bullion instead of plain water and added water to half the roast. I used sea salt, garlic powder, pepper and added rosemary and thyme to the rub as well as inserting a couple of pieces of garlic. I did sit it on some bay leaves. It was the best pork roast I ever made. I will be using this recipe again. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I cooked this recipe for New Year's Eve and my guests asked for more! However, I had to go to a butcher shop in my neighbourhood to find this kind of meat - none of the regular groceries stores had this part of the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
My Mom has been making this same recipe without the mushrooms, my entire life. It has been a family favorite, and it still is with my kids and grandkids. We use garlic salt instead of salt and garlic powder. Once the roast and veggies are removed, we use the dripping as a base for the gravy. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Absolutely flavorless. I took everyone's advice here and added way more seasoning than I thought it needed, and it still wasn't enough. I used water, not broth, which was a mistake. Next time, I'll definitely be cutting slits into the meat and inserting garlic and onion cloves. I might even caramelize the onions beforehand. Also, don't use a lot of liquid. I filled the pan about 1/3 of the way and it was too much. Very very bland and tasteless, if I make this again I would definitely be rewriting the whole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
great recipe 4 stars I used it by braising my pork roast in olive oil while cutting my carrots diagonally,onions into rings on top and potatoes into chunks, they were cooked beforehand in chicken stock and thyme with fennel seed on top. After 40 minutes I added my braised roast for 45 minutes on 350. I added chives for garnish and it was delicious. The fennel enhanced the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This was great and simple. I made about a 3 lb roast with 4 potatoes, 1 onion and 5 carrots. I used 2 chicken boullion cubes with a couple cups of water. I sprinkled the vegetables with my home made steak seasoning for an extra flavor because we eat strong flavorful food - as others recommended to add a bit more herbs. It turned out very tastey and everyone ate it up! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
My roast came out nice and moist. I took the advice of one member and used half water and half chicken stock. It came out perfect! I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Made this for the first time tonight, I only added a chicken bouillon cube to the water and split whole carrots...came out PERFECT, fell apart and was not dry at all. I seasoned with garlic pepper and kosher salt but I think with the chicken stock it made the veggies a little too salty. Next time I'll just stick to water! AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
I made this a few nights ago, and my husband is still talking about it! My roast was still a little frozen when I started, so I was worried, but it turned out fantastic! I did everything as it said, but only filled my roasting pan about 1/4 to 1/3 full, as the juices from the meat filled it more. And I didn't use nearly as many veggies.. just what I thought we would need. Plus my roasting pan isn't big enough for that many. Oh, and instead of salt, I used Tony Cacheres seasoning, plus the pepper and garlic powder to rub on it before browning. I put some olive oil in the skillet before I browned, too. I'm sure it was supposed to be part of the recipe, but was forgotten. Anyway, this recipe is highly recommended!!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I cooked it just as it said but substituted some veggies. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States