Pork Butt Roast with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I had a 9 + pound pork butt in my freezer and decided to give this recipe a go. Let me tell you, it couldn't have been easier. I trimmed my roast a bit, then cut slits into it on both sides and stuffed garlic cloves deep into the roast. I crusted with our favorite pork rib rub, then seared it off on the stovetop right in the roasting pan in olive oil. Once it was seared on all sides, I covered the roast with a large, thinly sliced sweet onion and a full box of chicken stock. Covered with foil, popped in the oven on 350 and let it rip for 4 1/2 hours. The meat is literally shredding away from the bone and into the roasting pan, it's just incredibly tender and delicious. I opted to skip the potatoes and vegetables and made this with the Chunky Applesauce recipe from this site along with brussel sprouts sauteed with pancetta and shallots. Thank you for this recipe, it's a keeper and will most certainly make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I think the recipe should state to season GENEROUSLY with S & P -- this is a very important step when searing meat. Simply sprinkling a little S & P will do nothing for the flavour of the meat. You need a good caramelized crust for optimum colour and flavour, which can only be achieved by a generous dose of S & P...the more, the better! With this cut of meat, it's pretty hard to go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was great... after reading other reviews, I cut slits and added garlic cloves. I also used Montreal steak seasoning as the rub... rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Great one dish meal-I used a 3 1/2 pound pork loin roast (I find that to be nice and tender) and halved the cooking time. Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was fabulous! We don't like mushrooms so I just left them out. I cut off an hour from the cooking time for a 3 pound roast. I did add a bay leaf and used sea salt instead of regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very nice recipe, we enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ariana
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This was great! Well worth the hours of cooking to enjoy such a delicious meal in the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariana
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This recipe is fantastic. My cooking skills rate somewhere below beginner and I am usually disappointed with the results of my cooking efforts but I am a bachelor and I dont think I can eat another microwave dinner so I keep trying. This recipe turned out great and it was also very easy to do. I would rate this a 5+++++++stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Macy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Amazing. We loved this, and will use the leftovers for soft tacos tonight. I used a can of french onion soup as my water in the pan, turned out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Awesome! Easy, simple,and absolutely delicious. Husband raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States