Pork Butt Roast with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This recipe looked good and simple to make but i wanted to use it in a crock pot. I had a smaller roast of 3 lbs so i recalculated the amount of all the items. I made it just like the recipe stated except i also rubbed in oregano with the salt, pepper and garlic and put it up about 9 am in the crock pot. Had dinner about 6pm and it was such a delicious meal! i shredded the pork with 2 forks there was so much food. My husband and i were so full but could not stop eating. This is really good and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
We made this on New Year's Day and it was a huge success. I cooked it in a mixture of beef and chicken broth instread of water and the grazy we made was wonderful and full of flavor. Searing is must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hothilary36
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was the easiest Christmas Eve dinner I have ever made, and very little clean up. I used beef broth in the bottom of the pan instead of water, I think if you use water it would be too bland. Meat was moist and melted in your mouth. I am going to use the rest for shredded pork tacos.....thanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was the BEST pork butt roast EVER!!! My parents came to celebrate Christmas early and we made this for our special dinner. My mom still raves about it and she is an excellent cook who has experimented with many pork roasts over the years. When the meat is cooked it is sooooooo tender and delicious. Hubby and I are making it again today but without the veggies. We are going to use it strictly for pork tacos and BBQ pulled pork sandwiches. I would definitely suggest putting garlic cloves in the meat and season generously before browning. If you are making a gravy then it would be better to add chicken broth to the water in the roasting pan. One last note---when made with the vegetables it is very similar to a New England boiled dinner, just to give you an idea of what it will be like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Awesome recipe, I stripped the pork down, making it pulled pork and added BBQ sauce to the meat. Served with on toasted bread with mayo, cheese and onions. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
It was so good... my daughters loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Very good recipe - just needed a little seasoning. Rubbed with Cajun seasoning and inserted quite a lot of minced garlic in lots of slits in the roast. I've actually made pork butt roast quite often, but had never added water in the process. That combined with the pre-searing made for a really tender roast. I also cleaned white potatoes, sliced without peeling, and added in the last hour, plus threw in a large frozen package of green beans the last 1/2 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Cooked in my cast iron dutch oven and it turned out incredibly tender. I would brown the meat in spices next time. It had an almost gamey flavor I'd like to mask. I also never use garlic powder - slice garlic and slice meat to insert garlic. I tie all roast with kitchen string.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
fantastic I rubbed mine with cumin salt pepper and liquid smoke, then seared the meat before putting it in beef stock with onions, 4.5 hrs better than resturant pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States