Pork Butt Roast with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
It was so good... my daughters loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Very good recipe - just needed a little seasoning. Rubbed with Cajun seasoning and inserted quite a lot of minced garlic in lots of slits in the roast. I've actually made pork butt roast quite often, but had never added water in the process. That combined with the pre-searing made for a really tender roast. I also cleaned white potatoes, sliced without peeling, and added in the last hour, plus threw in a large frozen package of green beans the last 1/2 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Cooked in my cast iron dutch oven and it turned out incredibly tender. I would brown the meat in spices next time. It had an almost gamey flavor I'd like to mask. I also never use garlic powder - slice garlic and slice meat to insert garlic. I tie all roast with kitchen string.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
fantastic I rubbed mine with cumin salt pepper and liquid smoke, then seared the meat before putting it in beef stock with onions, 4.5 hrs better than resturant pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This is great! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKUHL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Did it in the crockpot and it was good but could have used more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Amazing. I browned the meat the night before to make my work in the morning less and it was wonderful. I used beef broth and french onion soup instead of water. The flavor of the meat and vegetables was simple yet satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Justin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I have made this roast four times in the Crockpot and each time it came out very juicy and flavorful. I add a few extra spices (garlic salt, bay leaves, thyme, etc.) and cook the roast on low until it reaches the desired temperature. I also include carrots, onions, quartered potatoes, and a cup of beef broth in the pot with the roast. This is a very good basic recipe and I have been complimented on it many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buxombanana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockledge, Florida, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I had a 9 + pound pork butt in my freezer and decided to give this recipe a go. Let me tell you, it couldn't have been easier. I trimmed my roast a bit, then cut slits into it on both sides and stuffed garlic cloves deep into the roast. I crusted with our favorite pork rib rub, then seared it off on the stovetop right in the roasting pan in olive oil. Once it was seared on all sides, I covered the roast with a large, thinly sliced sweet onion and a full box of chicken stock. Covered with foil, popped in the oven on 350 and let it rip for 4 1/2 hours. The meat is literally shredding away from the bone and into the roasting pan, it's just incredibly tender and delicious. I opted to skip the potatoes and vegetables and made this with the Chunky Applesauce recipe from this site along with brussel sprouts sauteed with pancetta and shallots. Thank you for this recipe, it's a keeper and will most certainly make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States