Pork Butt Roast with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
. Very yummy with a few minor changes. I added about 1/4 c. chopped celery and some worcestershire sauce. Also, I cut the recipe in half so I could use my slow cooker. I made a gravy from the juices before serving and it was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Delicious. Left out the mushrooms, added celery seed and poultry seasoning to the meat rub. Cooked 3 lb bone-in roast for slightly less than 3 hours, and it was perfectly fork tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Fantastic recipe because it's easy, tasty, and comes out nice enough to show off. This was my first time making a pork roast. I did a 3 lb, no bone roast. I thought I put too much seasoning but in hindsight MORE seasoning is better as other reviewers have mentioned. Keep using the thermometer so it doesn't get overcooked - mine cooked in substantially less than 3 hours at 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vixenvillain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Perfect! The only major modification I made was to use white wine for some of the water. Made gravy with the juice and served with pasta because I had no potatoes. Everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Great!!!! All thumbs up....started at noon at 325*....increased to 350* at 3:30, put in baby carrots & small 'tatoes....gravy served over all...next time leave out mushrooms...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
A great base recipe that you can adjust to your taste. Seasoned heavily with cumin, thyme, salt, pepper, and inserted garlic into slits throughout the roast. I used about a 3 lb roast and it was perfect at about 3 hours. For veggies we did the potatoes, carrots, and mushrooms. It was delicious and we have plenty left over. Searing and then cooking in the broth made it perfectly tender. Again, this is a good base recipe. Spice it according to your likes and put in the veggies that interest you. I prefer base recipes over exact ones anyday! Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South New Berlin, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I used a can of French Onion condensed soup for the liquid. Added leeks, potatoes, carrots, onions, celery. I seared the roast, put it in the Dutch oven w/French onion soup, added half of the potatoes, cooked for one hour. Prior to that first hour, I added the onions and celery to the fry pan in which I seared the roast. I added a little warm water so that I could create a reduction with the lovely brown bits left over after searing the roast. Piled those onions/celery atop the roast. After the hour, I added rest of potatoes, the carrots, leeks. Cooked another 1.5 hours. This got rave reviews from husband and children alike. This was my first pot roast ever, and it will be my go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
This recipe looked good and simple to make but i wanted to use it in a crock pot. I had a smaller roast of 3 lbs so i recalculated the amount of all the items. I made it just like the recipe stated except i also rubbed in oregano with the salt, pepper and garlic and put it up about 9 am in the crock pot. Had dinner about 6pm and it was such a delicious meal! i shredded the pork with 2 forks there was so much food. My husband and i were so full but could not stop eating. This is really good and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
We made this on New Year's Day and it was a huge success. I cooked it in a mixture of beef and chicken broth instread of water and the grazy we made was wonderful and full of flavor. Searing is must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hothilary36
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was the easiest Christmas Eve dinner I have ever made, and very little clean up. I used beef broth in the bottom of the pan instead of water, I think if you use water it would be too bland. Meat was moist and melted in your mouth. I am going to use the rest for shredded pork tacos.....thanks for the recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States