Pork Butt Roast with Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
came out perfect!! followed some suggestions from reviews like chicken broth instead of water , and a nice rub!Great flavor , can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freddyb205

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I just made this for dinner and it was delicious and very tender. I added thyme and a dash of cloves to the rub before browning. I also added a bed of celery with leaves and sliced onions under the roast and cooked it for 5 hours at 325 degrees adding just carrots the last hour. I cooked it in a cast aluminum roaster with lid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I browned like recipe states and then put in a crock pot with the veggies (no mushrooms for me) for 8 hours. This is the first time I made a pork butt roast. I wasn't home to eat dinner with hubby but he said to rate it between 4.5 and 5. Looking forward to leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I used a pork loin roast for this meal, as that is what I had in the freezer. This was a wonderful dinner to fix on a cool Saturday. Brown the meat, add veggies and put in the oven for 3 hours. I did sub Brussels sprouts for the mushrooms, personal preference. The meat was so tender and the veggies were cooked just right, not the least bit mushy. I will most definitely use this recipe again when I have another roast or a pork butt. The leftovers were just a wonderful the next day. Thanks Kat for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Made this last night and it is a definite hit. I made it with a pork roast (which I don't think is the same as a pork butt) because Whole Foods had them on sale. The roast was just under 3 lbs. I used some of the advice from other reviews and made the following changes: 1. sprinkled with coarse sea salt, pepper, garlic powder & Mrs. Dash's herb blend before browning 2. added coarsely chopped celery to pan with onion and vegetable stock 3. roasted in 300 degree oven, covered for 1 1/2 hrs., uncovered for last 1 hr. 4. didn't have red potatoes, so just made some mashed potatoes w/ it Perfectly done, sauce made a great gravy for the mashed potatoes too. This is going to be a regular recipe in our house and will probably try it in the slow-cooker next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was my first time roasting a pork butt (very affordable) so I followed the recipe; the only tweak that I made was substituting vegetable stock for the water, as I had a lot of it and didn't have many uses for it. This turned out to be one of the most scrumptious dishes that ever came out of our oven, oh, man it was tender, and I don't think I have to mention that the veggie stock made some killer gravy! M-m-m-m-m! Thanks for this recipe, a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I made this tonight and it was fantastic! I was so surprised at how much flavor it had because it is so easy! I followed the recipe exactly except that I added a few sprigs of fresh rosemary and a bay leaf before I put it in the oven. The pork does literally melt in your mouth! Delicious and has so many possibilities for left-overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Seared in vegetable oil with a little bacon grease after rubbing with cracked pepper and sea salt. Placed 2 lg white onions quartered and sliced, lg bag of baby carrotts, ~15 baby new potatoes (used 10 before and ended up wanting more with leftovers...), 8oz fresh halved button mushrooms and 4 halved cloves of garlic stuffed into varios slits in the meat after seared. All into roaster at once. Added half way up with water. Covered with foil. Into preheated oven ~ 3 hrs; then checked the meat to have it falling apart (i leave it in longer by 20 min increments - and have found that half full or less water allows it to cook to this point better - you can always add a little water or broth if its getting too dry - all ovens cook differently). The juices and veggie combo in this come out very savory with this cut of pork -- I've made it 3 times and it's perfect every time! Super Simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Deep River, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This recipe is wonderful. So easy and the meat came out incredibly tender. The only change I made was to add a can of chicken broth with some water. Cooked it covered at 300. The meat just fell apart. I will be fixing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Awesome dish. I tweaked it a little by using 100% chicken stock and cooking it at 350 for the first hour and dropping it down to 300 for the last two hours. 3 hours total for a 3.5lb roast. I also basted it every hour or so. The stock evaporates but leaves plenty for a nice gravy. Make a roux and spoon out some of the stock into the pan, thickens up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States