Pork Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I use it all the time and it's absolutely wonderful. Make sure you use about a pound of ice cubes...one tray may not be quite enough. One very important missing bit of info...make sure you rinse chops thoroughly and pat dry with paper towel before you cook. They are best if grilled or broiled. Don't be afraid of the salt...but make sure not to marinate more than the 2 hours...slightly less if chops are very thin...this is NOT an overnight brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
We used 1 cup water (eliminated ice cubs) with 1 cup vinegar and brined for 24 hours. Next time will cut back on salt 1/4 cup. These were very tender and flavorful. Topped pork chops with apple, walnut and bacon pieces. We always, always, brine our pork chops. It makes ALL the difference in the world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I'm very new to this - have never made a marinade, I don't think, so maybe I made some beginner mistakes I followed the recipe to the letter, using 2 lbs. of boneless pork chops (8 of them). I suppose that after marinating them for two hours, the instructions should have said to discard the brine (probably second nature for experienced cooks). But when I pan-fried my first two chops, I poured a bit of the brine into the pan. Bad mistake - it's not like sauteeing something in olive oil; the brine quickly turned black and burned awfully in the pan for the last half of the cooking time. After that, I got rid of all of the brine, leaving the moistened chops in my fridge. Unlike the experience of other reviewers, I found that even cooking the chops as suggested (medium-high, or 8/10 on my range's dial), the chops did indeed turned out juicy and moist - a pleasant surprise. The flavors of the brine were pretty interesting, but the excess salt was a drawback. Should I have quickly rinsed the chops in water before cooking, as another reviewer suggested? I may make this again, and I'll try that if I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Was great. Only marinated for 1 hour and rinsed of any extra salt/liquid on the outside. Cooked on low heat to ensure it stayed moist. Used thicker cut chops and after marinating stuffed them with a pork stuffing. Mmmm Mmmmm Mmmm will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This is actually Alton Browns recipe, I've been using it for a long time and its amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
i cut the salt to 1/2 cup and added a couple cups water and some liquid smoke. I let the country ribs soak all day and BBQ'd them slow at about 250 degrees. They got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOGGWILD89

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Not very good. There was absolutely NOTHING tender about my pork. Luckily I coated my pork with a smathering of maple bacon. I would substitue apple juice in place of the vinegar, but may never know, because I fear to subject a nice piece of meat to such brutality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anthem, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
This marinade is easy, no ingredients that you don't already have in your cupboard and I used Iowa chops with the bone in and they were out of this world tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
hey, cut back on the salt if ur gonna marinade it along time, like more than 4 hours, it was way so salty for my likin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I cut the salt in half, as others suggested, but my pork still ended up WAAYYY too salty. Just too much salt and not enough flavor. I even finished it with a molasses glaze, and that couldn't cut the salty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States