Pork Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Not very good. There was absolutely NOTHING tender about my pork. Luckily I coated my pork with a smathering of maple bacon. I would substitue apple juice in place of the vinegar, but may never know, because I fear to subject a nice piece of meat to such brutality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anthem, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Was great. Only marinated for 1 hour and rinsed of any extra salt/liquid on the outside. Cooked on low heat to ensure it stayed moist. Used thicker cut chops and after marinating stuffed them with a pork stuffing. Mmmm Mmmmm Mmmm will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Pork was not tender and if you dont fully rinse all the brine off the meat it will be salty, recipe calls for one cup of salt way to much maybe a 1/4 cup of salt would do better , will never use this brine again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
i cut the salt to 1/2 cup and added a couple cups water and some liquid smoke. I let the country ribs soak all day and BBQ'd them slow at about 250 degrees. They got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOGGWILD89

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Very impressive! I too cut the salt by half and we grilled our pork chops. Very juicy and extremely flavorful. This is the new way I will be cooking pork for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I'm very new to this - have never made a marinade, I don't think, so maybe I made some beginner mistakes I followed the recipe to the letter, using 2 lbs. of boneless pork chops (8 of them). I suppose that after marinating them for two hours, the instructions should have said to discard the brine (probably second nature for experienced cooks). But when I pan-fried my first two chops, I poured a bit of the brine into the pan. Bad mistake - it's not like sauteeing something in olive oil; the brine quickly turned black and burned awfully in the pan for the last half of the cooking time. After that, I got rid of all of the brine, leaving the moistened chops in my fridge. Unlike the experience of other reviewers, I found that even cooking the chops as suggested (medium-high, or 8/10 on my range's dial), the chops did indeed turned out juicy and moist - a pleasant surprise. The flavors of the brine were pretty interesting, but the excess salt was a drawback. Should I have quickly rinsed the chops in water before cooking, as another reviewer suggested? I may make this again, and I'll try that if I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I cut the salt in half, as others suggested, but my pork still ended up WAAYYY too salty. Just too much salt and not enough flavor. I even finished it with a molasses glaze, and that couldn't cut the salty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
TOO SALTY!! I will try it again but next time I will cut the salt by at least 2/3's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
hey, cut back on the salt if ur gonna marinade it along time, like more than 4 hours, it was way so salty for my likin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
This marinade is easy, no ingredients that you don't already have in your cupboard and I used Iowa chops with the bone in and they were out of this world tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How NOT to Make Pork Roast, a Cautionary Tale

Watch Chef John mess up a pork roast, and learn how to do it right!

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States