Pork Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This is so good!I only used 1/4 c of salt and didn't have brown sugar so I used sugar and honey.I used country style ribs and put BBQ sauce on it the last 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
We used 1 cup water (eliminated ice cubs) with 1 cup vinegar and brined for 24 hours. Next time will cut back on salt 1/4 cup. These were very tender and flavorful. Topped pork chops with apple, walnut and bacon pieces. We always, always, brine our pork chops. It makes ALL the difference in the world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I use it all the time and it's absolutely wonderful. Make sure you use about a pound of ice cubes...one tray may not be quite enough. One very important missing bit of info...make sure you rinse chops thoroughly and pat dry with paper towel before you cook. They are best if grilled or broiled. Don't be afraid of the salt...but make sure not to marinate more than the 2 hours...slightly less if chops are very thin...this is NOT an overnight brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
This marinade is easy, no ingredients that you don't already have in your cupboard and I used Iowa chops with the bone in and they were out of this world tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
hey, cut back on the salt if ur gonna marinade it along time, like more than 4 hours, it was way so salty for my likin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
TOO SALTY!! I will try it again but next time I will cut the salt by at least 2/3's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
I cut the salt in half, as others suggested, but my pork still ended up WAAYYY too salty. Just too much salt and not enough flavor. I even finished it with a molasses glaze, and that couldn't cut the salty taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I'm very new to this - have never made a marinade, I don't think, so maybe I made some beginner mistakes I followed the recipe to the letter, using 2 lbs. of boneless pork chops (8 of them). I suppose that after marinating them for two hours, the instructions should have said to discard the brine (probably second nature for experienced cooks). But when I pan-fried my first two chops, I poured a bit of the brine into the pan. Bad mistake - it's not like sauteeing something in olive oil; the brine quickly turned black and burned awfully in the pan for the last half of the cooking time. After that, I got rid of all of the brine, leaving the moistened chops in my fridge. Unlike the experience of other reviewers, I found that even cooking the chops as suggested (medium-high, or 8/10 on my range's dial), the chops did indeed turned out juicy and moist - a pleasant surprise. The flavors of the brine were pretty interesting, but the excess salt was a drawback. Should I have quickly rinsed the chops in water before cooking, as another reviewer suggested? I may make this again, and I'll try that if I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Very impressive! I too cut the salt by half and we grilled our pork chops. Very juicy and extremely flavorful. This is the new way I will be cooking pork for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How NOT to Make Pork Roast, a Cautionary Tale

Watch Chef John mess up a pork roast, and learn how to do it right!

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States