Pork Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
as another reviewer mentioned, this is very similar to Alton Brown's recipe. Alton's only uses 1/2 cup salt, and I would suggest following his. With the salt reduced you should be able to leave in the brine overnight. Definitely rinse the pork after brining!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krispy6372

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Too salty! I only marinaded my ribs for 2 hours as recommended and then I rinsed them very well and I still couldn't taste anything but salt, I put BBQ sauce on them and I couldn't even taste it, yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth66335

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
decent recipe. I substituted 1/4 cup salt for 1/4 cup seasoning salt. Also I reccomend marinating for at least 12 hours if not 24
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef J
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Excellant pork brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This is actually Alton Browns recipe, I've been using it for a long time and its amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Very good. Like others, I decreased the salt to 1/4 cup. I marinated a pork tenderloin, and it turned out very tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Great recipe, upon the previous reviews, I cut the salt to 1/4 cup and added nutmeg (1tbsp). Really really good, sweet and juicy from the pan. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Definitely a wonderful marinade!!!! I agree that you should cut the salt content to 1/4-1/2 cup. It was the most juicy and tender meat I have had in quite a while! My kids (5y and 3y) scarfed it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
The general rule of thumb for brines is 1 cup of salt PER GALLON of water. This recipe had WAAAAAAYYYYY too much salt. It made the meat very salty and we could hardly eat it. However, after reducing the amount of salt (by 3/4 of a cup) this brine would be very delicious. Next time I try it, I will omit most of the salt. I did add a bit of thyme to the brine as well. Can't wait to try it again with the appropriate amount of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
YUMMY. Moist, juicy pork chops. I cut the salt in 1/2 as others suggested. After they soaked in the brine for about 1 1/2 hours, I also rinsed them off, patted them dry with paper towels and rubbed them with a bit of canola oil to keep them from sticking to the grill. I used boneless loin chops that were about 3/4 inch thick. I grilled them for a total of 15 minutes, turning once about half way through. I will definately make this again--love the subtle apple flavor. My 4 year old kept asking for "more meat".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States