Pork Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Awesome brine, I brined a whole Pork loin for two hours. I rinsed it good dried it off rubbed with olive oil and rolled in kosher salt, garlic, thyme and rosemary. I roasted it on my kamado grill at 300 degrees until the inside temp hit 160. rested for twenty minutes and sliced... Oh Baby! very good brine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cucina di papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was an epic fail. I followed the recipe exactly and marinated the pork chops for only two hours, per the recipe. I pan-fried the chops (like I normally do) but they didn't come out juicy as promised. They were rubbery and so salty that they were almost inedible. Also, the apple cider vinegar made them taste "off," almost as if they were on the brink of going bad. Suffice it to say, I'm taking this one out of my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This gave a nice flavor to the pork chops although a bit too salty and they turned out really tough. Might try this again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ke3515

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This recipe is not for the timid. It is way too salty, and in my case did not tenderize the chops. Frankly, we will never try it again, even with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This brine was amazing! I marinated some pork chops last night but only had them in the brine for about an hour and a half because everyone was hungry. The pork was so flavorful and juicy after we grilled it! I can't wait to have pork chops again because of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
to those who complain this is too salty, remember this is a brine, not a marinade! remove the pork after 2 hours and rinse it. I followed the recipe to the letter and the pork was juicy, flavorful, and not at all salty. if you leave it in the brine too long you'll just turn the chops into ham. never treat a brine like a marinade
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I read the reviews and wanted to add something. Keep in mind when using brine that not all cuts of pork need to be marinated in brine, and adjust the time you soak the meat accordingly. if your meat is coming out too salty you soaked it too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I cut the salt to 1/2cup. I added 2 cloves of crushed garlic and 1 stick of cinamon since I stuffed my boneless pork chops with goat cheese and apples. I was so pleased, my chops came out so juicy and flavorful. I think they sat for about 4hrs in the brine. I will always use this recipe from now on!!! Thank you from saving us from dry and hard chops. REMEMBER PEOPLE: you MUST wash the brine off meat before cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Love this recipe, great way to make pork soo juicy and tender!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States