Pork Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I used the brine and then smoked the chops in a smoker. They were the best chops I've made in a long time. Not dried out. Will definitely use this recipe again. I know they say not to smoke pork but I made sure the smoker got to a high enough temp and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This is a great recipe...and you can always add in your own herbs and such for added flavour. But remember this is a brine, not a marinade, so the vinegar and salt are required. The general rule for brining is an hour per pound and you must rinse the meat before cooking it. Your meat should not turn out salty if all is done correctly. If brined for too long, the salt will start to break down the meat and the result will be salty, badly textured meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oceanica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Worked well on all cut of pork. Chops, roasts, loins, didn't matter. Will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dave1975

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
The amount of salt called for vs water is ludicrous AND should specify kosher salt (it makes a huge difference!). This brine recipe calls for WAY too much salt & not enough water. You need thick pork chops for any brining as far as I'm concerned. Actually, a better use is for large pork butt or shoulder roast (overnight brining) prior to smoking or slow cooking. I get juicy, tender 3/4" boneless chops using a milder version brine (I sear & braise). A proper brine needs much more water vs the vinegar/salt ratio and a tray of ice cubes will not cut it. This brine as written is way out of proportion and will 'pickle' any pork. If you use as written..you won't be happy and don't believe any good reviews (most of them have been altered). Hope this helps somebody out there thinking about utilizing this brine recipe. Sorry, I do not like to be harsh...being honest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Well, I should have read the reviews before I used this. I usually do, but I guess I was in a hurry. Definitely NOT an overnight brine. My pork chops we WAY too salty. Will try again and not marinate overnight next time. I like the idea of rinsing them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I loved the way my pork tasted afterward. I added a tsp minced garlic and a tsp rosemary and let it set for about 3 hours (we had very thick cuts of pork) and then we grilled them. They were sooo juicy and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dceubank

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
all I could taste was vinager
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Absolutely the best -- extra juicy and family really raved about these chops. You must follow the recipe exactly or suffer any dire consequences you may incur!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I used a small pork loin with this recipe. It was great to make the pork tender and juicy but I did leave it in a little to long, my error. Hubby still liked it with the extra flavor of the apple cider vinegar. Next time I won't leave it in as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Way too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States