Pork Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
We did not care for this. After brining for 1.5 hrs, the loin chops were very salty and not tender, though they were somewhat moist. THis sounds very simple but I recommend caution if you have never brined meat. The title is "brine", but the description calls it a "marinade" so those that have never brined( like me) would be led to believe they are one and the same. Apparently they are not. While I didn't appreciate some of the pointed remarks that "everyone" should know to rinse the meat, I did follow the advice and I did use kosher salt. Otherwise I made no changes. Even with rinsing and not using table salt this was so difficult to eat. I had to hide it in big bites of mashed potato to finish. I don't think it's considered "messing up the recipe" to follow the author's instructions. This is supposedly lacking vital information but not every cook can be expected to know that. We will not attempt this again, even with alterations, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
HELLO, this is a BRINE, NOT a MARINADE. There is a difference. The type and cut of meat determines the brine time. A turkey goes longer and the pork chops should go no longer than 2 hours or you will have salty meat. You should alway rinse your meat after the brine and throw away the brine. The brine is changing the meat fibers to make the meat moister. This is also Alton Browns recipe, he has a video on brining also that is cool. I recommend the peeps who messed up try again and follow the directions exactly, it does make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
As featured on Good Eats - Alton Brown, use coarse salt, not table salt. But even still, the pork was SUPER salty and I only marinaded for one hour. Cutting back on the salt and adding more ice water next time. After marinading, I proceeded with the Caramel Apple Pork Chops recipe here on AllRecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This worked very well. I think I would use less salt than called for. Will definitely use this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This was definately delish. I believe I cut everything in half except for the ice cubes. Make sure to rinse the brine off ENTIRELY since it is very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Brine was great, pork was very flavorful. Left mustard out because I didnt have any and did not feel like buying more. For those whom say it is too salty you either forgot to rinse the brine off before grilling or you didnt use Kosher or Sea salt. This is originally an Alton Brown recipe and he never uses the iodized table salt we were used to growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCarter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I followed other reviewer's suggestions, and used about 1/3 the salt listed. I brined pork chops for 4 hours, and rinsed well, then brushed with a mixture of balsamic vinegar, brown sugar, soy sauce, cracked pepper and garlic powder. They were the best grilled pork chops we have ever made. Flavorful and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I triple checked salt amount because it sounded like too much...but prepared as written. It was INEDIBLE! I'm usually gentle in reviews but I literally could not eat this! Hubby struggled through because he was so hungry...this one will never be tried again, sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I normally do not like pork chops at all. But I have to say I seriously just became a fan of Pork Chops after trying this Brine! After they marinated for 2.5 hours I took them to the BBQ grill and just basted in a bit of home made BBQ sauce. They were to die for tender and juicy! I'll be trying it with a Pork Tenderloin next! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I don't know who "THEY" is that said to not smoke pork, but "THEY" is crazy. HOWEVER, I just grilled mine and this was fantastic. I had inch thick, boneless, center cut, loin chops that I brined for the suggested two hours and they couldn't have been better. Due to a recent health issue (not preference) I was a "good girl" and cut the salt by half and even for this salt lover, they were lovely. AS WITH ANY BRINE, I did rinse it from the meat and pat the copes dry prior to putting it on the grill. Thanks for an easy, pantry friendly recipe I'll use again often. And remember folks, the only "dry" pork chop is an over cooked pork chop! If you cook meat too long, there's not a brine or marinade in existence that can save it. That's why we have "gravy". :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mimosa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Texarkana, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States