Pork Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I'm giving this 4 stars because even though I modified it based on what others wrote, it is a good brine mixture. For 4 thick chops, I used 1 c cider vinegar, 1/4 c salt, 2/3 c brown sugar, 2 t. black pepper, 2 t mustard powder and 2 c ice water. I think the mistake many people made was they either left it in brine too long or did not rinse well enough. You MUST rinse brined meat very thoroughly to wash off the salt. I let the rinsed chops rest in a bowl of ice water for about 5 moinutes, themn pat dry and cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
It was awful! My pork tasted like pure salt. You couldn't taste anything else. I think it should say 1 Tablespoon, not cup. I wasted 2 lbs of pork and had to quickly come up with something else to serve for dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
We tried this on thick cut pork chops and it was amazing. Don't cut the salt down like others are saying. Just make sure you follow the instructions exactly as stated. After 2 hours, pull the pork chops and rinse thoroughly under cold water. After that, place the chops in a bowl of ice water for about 5 minutes. Pat dry and cook. I used olive oil and fresh ground pepper and they were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is Food Network's Alton Browns recipe. Amazingly it does brine the pork in two hours. I would recommend cutting the salt in half and make sure to use kosher salt, not regular table salt. It does make the pork chop more juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
just used this brine for pork tonight and the juiciness is OUTSTANDING...the salt content is not...WAY TO MUCH...will use again with maybe 1/2 the salt next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I don't know what I did wrong - followed the directions to a T and this was the worst meal I have served in years -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
The brine I've used many many times. My chops come out tender and juicy as long as they are not overcooked! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I really liked this recipie although the other people are fit only marinate for one (1) hour.. I did it for two and they can out salty.. but totally juicy and flavorful LOL.. I will be trying this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
As Amber said in '08 this is Alton Brown's recipe and is very good. However, the recipe as listed here leaves out some important instructions, hence the 3-star rating. Alton calls for 1 lb of ice, the brine should be very cold when adding the pork, with even a few icecubes remaining after chilled. Then marinate NO MORE than 2 hours in the brine. Lastly, this is a brine not a marinade... discard the brine after use and rinse the pork well under cold running water then pat dry. Season your chops as you usually would without salty products (the brine takes care of that) and grill as you normally do. I like to use an herb blend or chili powder rub before grilling indirect @ 300-350º until the internal temp hits 110º, then grill direct until its done to your liking... at least 145º.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bullard, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
We did not care for this. After brining for 1.5 hrs, the loin chops were very salty and not tender, though they were somewhat moist. THis sounds very simple but I recommend caution if you have never brined meat. The title is "brine", but the description calls it a "marinade" so those that have never brined( like me) would be led to believe they are one and the same. Apparently they are not. While I didn't appreciate some of the pointed remarks that "everyone" should know to rinse the meat, I did follow the advice and I did use kosher salt. Otherwise I made no changes. Even with rinsing and not using table salt this was so difficult to eat. I had to hide it in big bites of mashed potato to finish. I don't think it's considered "messing up the recipe" to follow the author's instructions. This is supposedly lacking vital information but not every cook can be expected to know that. We will not attempt this again, even with alterations, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a 5-star spice-rubbed pork tenderloin for the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States