Pork Balls and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is a good recipe, I have made it and also expanded on it several times. If you don't like sauerkraut then it is not for you, but for us who have Polish roots it's a favorite. A word about the rice, unless you are using minute rice always precook your rice or at least cook it halfway to done before putting it in a recipe like this one. I have also made this dish using the suggestion of another reviewer of adding the can of tomato soup. If you really feel lucky then put a layer of fresh cabbage on the bottom of the pot then your meatballs and add a half of the tomato soup and finish it off on the top with one of the cans of sauerkraut (only use one can of Kraut) and finish with the other half can of soup.This is similar to a stew my grandma use to make at New years. Very good but only if you like cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I added smoked sausage and pearl onions studded with cloves between the layers of sauerkraut in the slow cooker. It went very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
A few people that tasted your recipe really liked it very much. Thank you for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I love this recipe, I am from Eastern Europe and we have a dish that is extremely similar in taste, but more difficult to prepare. We do serve it with sour cream once it is on the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
If you like sauerkraut then you'll love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This recipe sounded really good and wanted to like it but it was awful. The pork was tough and dry even though I put it in the slowcooker on low for 10 hours. Sorry, not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2007
We did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This was very bland, maybe some garlic would improve it, and perhaps brown the meatballs lightly before adding the kraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
This was pretty good. My family and I really like sauerkraut which is a must with this recipe. My only complaint is that the pork balls were very loose... I had a feeling they'd fall apart in the crock pot and a few of them did. Also the meal could have used more spices as it was a bit bland. I like to cook pork (chops, tenderloin) in sauerkraut so again, this was just up our alley. Made mashed potatoes and served w/applesauce. Will make again adding spices and trying to firm up the pork balls. EDIT: THIS DIDN'T SIT WELL THE NEXT DAY WITH US. TRY JUST COOKING TENDERLOIN OR CHOPS IN SAUERKRAUT... THIS JUST WASN'T SO GREAT AFTER ALL... CHANGING FROM 4 STARS TO 2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
This was so bad that we threw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States