Pork Balls and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Added garlic powder, salt, ground pepper, paprika, bay leaf and some white wine and a can of tomato soup to the liquid. Wasn't sure how much chicken stock to add (drained kraut over sink... oops). Probably added 500ml. With all the other liquid in there it ended up spectacular. Thanks for mentioning the additions, fellow reviewers! I think the result would not have been quite as good otherwise. Even with the changes I only rate it a 4 - still needs something, just not sure what. Served it over homemade spaetzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blushing_unicorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I was skeptical about this, after reading several negative reviews, but it turned out great! I agree with the comments that stated this is good, "If you like sauerkraut." Not sure why you would make it if you weren't. I prepared this as the recipe states, but added a can of diced tomatoes (liquid and all) to the top and also 1/2 C water, as my sauerkraut wasn't very liquid-y. (I used the kind in the bag, not a can.) Not sure why others had trouble with the texture or the rice not cooking... I did cook mine covered, so it steamed up. Overall, an easy, healthy, quick dinner to add to our rotation of winter comfort foods!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Love this recipe! I added 3/4 cup of water and simmered and used parboiled rice (not instant) it simmered up beautifully! Next time will sprinkle on caraway seed (my austrian husband makes his sauerkraut like that)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great weekday slow cooker option. Followed other reviewers' tips: used 1/2 the canned kraut and 1/2 fresh cabbage, 1 can tomato sauce. pretty tangy but cut it with some frozen peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Our family loved this! We did nothing different from the recipe. FYI... be ready to take it off after cooking for 1 hr. You probably won't need that extra 30 minutes, otherwise your pork will be tough. Keep in mind that ground pork is VERY LEAN. Therefore, it cooks up firm. If you want fattier meatballs that are softer when finished, you can mix in some beef, which would be yummy, too. Or you could use pork sausage, which has lots of fat to make it chewier. We loved ours with the plain ground pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This was a great way for using up leftover sausage. I used instant brown rice and they turned out really good. I took the advice of the reviewers and used dried onion instead of fresh(too lazy to chop). I added sharp hungarian paprika and garlic powder to the meatball mixture. When I rinsed the sauerkraut instead of adding water to the pan I added beer and it added amazing flavor. A great base recipe to tweak to your liking. I think the mixed reviews may have reflected on the type of sausage used and how much flavor it added to the dish. I use spicy sausage, which I think made all the difference. I served this with honey roasted potatoes also from this site. I think this would also have been delicious with a cold green bean cider vinegar marinated salad. I look forward to trying this in the slow cooker next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
The meatballs were mushy and had an overall bad flavor and way too much sauerkraut for the amount of meat. My entire family didn't want to touch it after the first bite. What a waste of time and money. Perhaps it would have been better on the stove, but I won't try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I found this recipe in a daily email/newsletter I get. Instead of ground pork I use a 1 lb roll of pan sauage. I also use the boiling bag/instant type rice and instead of regular sauerkraut I use the barvarian sauerkraut, it is sweeter and not as acidic as the regular. Also, since I do not use the whole amount of meat I have to add some bread crumbs or crackers to the meat ball mixture as it is too wet otherwise and I use no seasoning. I love this recipe. I serve it with mashed potatoes. It's a great change from the tomato and beef meat ball recipes. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I can't imagine what to do to improve these. I used fresh sauerkraut (could that be it?) I rinsed it because it is pretty strong. The meatballs were almost without flavor and the rice (I used Minute) gave them an unpleasant texture. I thought that maybe something that could make this a little more flavorable would be brown gravy (like Konigsberger Klapse) but didn't try it. We just threw the whole thing out and ordered take-out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
We like sauerkraut at our house and the minor details we changed on this recipe made it taste great. I didn't have quite enough pork so I made the meatballs with sausage and pork combined which added an amazing flavor. I'd make it with sausage added every time now. And make sure you rinse the sauerkraut and replace the liquid with water or chicken broth. Then it turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States