Pork, Apple, and Ginger Stir-Fry with Hoisin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
OH MY GOSH! This sauce is to die for! I used pork, but you could use beef or chicken or shrimp just as well. Veggie selection is unlimited too! I used green, red and yellow bell pepper, a handful of frozen green peas, yellow onion, chopped celery, drained water chestnuts and bean sprouts. You could also use mushrooms, baby corn, carrots, and of course, broccoli (as the recipe calls for). The sauce is the key! Served over fried rice – YUMMMM! Thank you, Jenny G.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I did a pared down, lighter-on-the-calories version of this and it was spectacular. I used 1 tbsp of olive oil supplemented with olive oil cooking spray rather than the peanut and sesame oils. I left out the cornstarch and just cooked the pork in the olive oil. I didn't have broccoli, so I used a green pepper, a red pepper, and an onion, all sliced. Oh, and I had 1.5 pounds of pork tenderloin, so I used it all. I left the sauce unchanged (except used splenda brown sugar blend instead of brown sugar); it is delicious as written. My husband loved it even though he doesn't normally like sweet foods, and our three male guests raved about it. I served it with a basic fried rice (3 cups cooked white rice, 1 egg, 3 tablespoons each of soy sauce and rice vinegar, all fried up together with olive oil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Different and delicious. Because other reviewers mentioned that this recipe was quite sweet, I used a little less applesauce and added about a tablespoon of rice vinegar. Zucchini, red onion, and mushrooms were the veggies I used and I served the stir fry over ramen noodles (cooked without the flavoring packet). The flavor combination of the sauce tasted like spicy Oriental apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is a great recipe! I used pork tenderloin instead of just loin and it was so tender. My hubby was disappointed when it was all gone - he'd been taking it for lunch. Next time I'll make more and see how it freezes. BTW, I did cut back on the sugar and used Splenda, it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deep Creek Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Great recipe for the the whole family. I added a chopped onion, half a green bell pepper, sliced, 1 can each of bamboo shoots and water chestnuts, drained. I doubled the ingrediants for the sauce to compensate for the extra veggies. My husband and kids raved throughout dinner. They were all shocked to find out that it had applesauce in the recipe. Will fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemon jar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mims, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I made this as written and it was really yummy. Will definitely make again. Next time I will add some more veggies though. I was given advice on the Recipe Exchange to use a cheese grater to "chop" the ginger after you peel it and it worked great. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This recipe was fabulous...and easy since I used left over pork roast. I added 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger (instead of using fresh) and 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes, both to the sauce. Enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was a great recipe. The kids really liked it, and the leftovers were good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I LOVED this and so did my family. I made it a little different though. No cornstarch, I had a pre-crockpot(ted) piece of pork that I shredded then heated in some veggie oil, added some frozen veggies, let that sit for about 10 minutes then added the stirred up sauce. Served over brown rice. Delicious. Normally I have to add spice (cayenne etc) to dishes but this was very tasty. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
So nice to have a stir-fry with a new taste. My husband loved the hint of ginger on the broccoli and I think the 15yo love this...he was too busy gobbling it down. He did nod briefly as he said "keep" when I asked his opinion on saving the recipe. The 10yo picky eater just picked out the meat. Sigh. But this was fast and easy (like all stir-fries) and delightfully yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States