Pork, Apple, and Ginger Stir-Fry with Hoisin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
I did a pared down, lighter-on-the-calories version of this and it was spectacular. I used 1 tbsp of olive oil supplemented with olive oil cooking spray rather than the peanut and sesame oils. I left out the cornstarch and just cooked the pork in the olive oil. I didn't have broccoli, so I used a green pepper, a red pepper, and an onion, all sliced. Oh, and I had 1.5 pounds of pork tenderloin, so I used it all. I left the sauce unchanged (except used splenda brown sugar blend instead of brown sugar); it is delicious as written. My husband loved it even though he doesn't normally like sweet foods, and our three male guests raved about it. I served it with a basic fried rice (3 cups cooked white rice, 1 egg, 3 tablespoons each of soy sauce and rice vinegar, all fried up together with olive oil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
OH MY GOSH! This sauce is to die for! I used pork, but you could use beef or chicken or shrimp just as well. Veggie selection is unlimited too! I used green, red and yellow bell pepper, a handful of frozen green peas, yellow onion, chopped celery, drained water chestnuts and bean sprouts. You could also use mushrooms, baby corn, carrots, and of course, broccoli (as the recipe calls for). The sauce is the key! Served over fried rice – YUMMMM! Thank you, Jenny G.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
I made this as written and it was really yummy. Will definitely make again. Next time I will add some more veggies though. I was given advice on the Recipe Exchange to use a cheese grater to "chop" the ginger after you peel it and it worked great. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
The flavors of this dish are great, but it's pretty heavy on the soy sauce. I halved it and still needed to add a little water at the end to mellow it out (almost took the rating down to a 3, but I think this recipe idea is worth keeping, so I'm being generous). The hoisin and ginger are awesome, plus I added black pepper and some chili flakes. I used a raw stir-fry mix of broccoli, carrots and snow peas. Yum! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Different and delicious. Because other reviewers mentioned that this recipe was quite sweet, I used a little less applesauce and added about a tablespoon of rice vinegar. Zucchini, red onion, and mushrooms were the veggies I used and I served the stir fry over ramen noodles (cooked without the flavoring packet). The flavor combination of the sauce tasted like spicy Oriental apple butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
The sauce was a very good recipe. After tasting it I decided to add a little honey (I have a sweet tooth) and some chopped garlic). I used chicken and a mix of broccoli, carrots, water chestnuts, green beans, bell pepper, and onion for my veggies. A very good and healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Pretty tasty, but VERY sweet. Next time I'll make it without the applesauce and/or cut back on the sugars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This was quite tasty. I had some snow peas I wanted to use up so I subbed those for the broccoli and also added bit of cabbage. I used brown sugar splenda in the sauce and left out the apple sauce. I added a whole diced apple to the dish instead. It wasn't too sweet this way at all. I think I may even add moer apple next time as the mixture of apple and pork was very good. I served this over shirataki noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Great recipe for the the whole family. I added a chopped onion, half a green bell pepper, sliced, 1 can each of bamboo shoots and water chestnuts, drained. I doubled the ingrediants for the sauce to compensate for the extra veggies. My husband and kids raved throughout dinner. They were all shocked to find out that it had applesauce in the recipe. Will fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lemon jar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mims, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
An excellent pork stir-fry - thanks for the recipe, Jenny G! Neither the ginger nor the hoisin is overly strong, and the applesauce gives the sauce just the right touch of sweetness. Very easy to prepare (even for a kitchen "mechanic" like me!) and everyone loved it. I can see where this would lend itself to all sorts of additions to help make it a real one-dish meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States