Pork, Apple, and Ginger Stir-Fry with Hoisin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I was really excited to make this recipe... it sounded delicious! BUT.... just didn't care for it. I found the soy sauce a bit overpowering, and just didn't like the flavor combination. I did follow the recipe as written, other than adding onion and a yellow pepper, but didn't like the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
The whole family liked this recipe just the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by decostef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schererville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Made this with a few changes. Used less meat and added more vegetables in addition to the broccoli, namely an onion and red pepper. Tasty and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
really good, I halfed the soy sauce....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Yummy! The applesauce gives it a unique twist on the usual homemade stir-fry. I used flour instead of cornstarch and only 4 tablespoons of soy sauce and I added some carrots, all pretty minor, and it was very tasty. Chicken could be used instead of pork, and of course, any crispy veggies could be added or used instead of the broccoli, and I'm sure it would still be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Pretty sweet but very yummy. Cut back brown sugar if you are using applesauce with any added sugar! Mix the sauce and then just put the pork in the sauce while the other stuff cooks. I used carrot (coins), celery (chopped) and didn't bother with the cornstarch coating on the pork. I was out of asian oils so used olive oil...it was fine but I think the peanut/sesame oils would be best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I was hoping to really like this, but it didn't do so well in our house. The applesauce added an odd texture.. it was also a bit too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
In a word - "Delicious!" Only addition was that I sauteed some sliced carrots, bean spouts and snow peas with the broccoli. It made for a very full serving over Basmati rice. Thanks for the keeper Jenny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Excellent recipe. I added bell peppers and kept everything the same. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
The flavors of this dish are great, but it's pretty heavy on the soy sauce. I halved it and still needed to add a little water at the end to mellow it out (almost took the rating down to a 3, but I think this recipe idea is worth keeping, so I'm being generous). The hoisin and ginger are awesome, plus I added black pepper and some chili flakes. I used a raw stir-fry mix of broccoli, carrots and snow peas. Yum! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States