Pork, Apple, and Ginger Stir-Fry with Hoisin Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Followed directions, it was very good but a little sweet for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
My entire family enjoyed this dish. The apple flavor is subtle, but gives the dish a fall flavor. Surprised though that it did not include garlic. Will have to try adding it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Stellar! It's always refreshing when an adventurous cook introduces an unexpected ingredient into a recipe. The result: mouth wow. This was a great dish, and I would not change anything about it. Hard to mess with perfection. Thanks Jenny!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Really good. Made it with brussels sprouts, carrots and mushrooms and stir fried with boiled ramen noodles like others suggested. I halved the soy sauce and halved the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I like sweet sauces, but because a lot of reviews said it was too sweet, I cut back on the brown sugar. All I had was homemade sweetened applesauce, so I cut back on the applesauce too. It was still pretty sweet. I would definitely use unsweetened applesauce if I made this again. I added a little water to make up for the applesauce, and also soy sauce, that I cut back on. I added onion and minced garlic with the ginger and also added some carrots. I sprinkled with some red pepper at the end. The applesauce gives it a different texture, but it wasn't unpleasant, just different. It made a nice meal. I liked it but don't know that I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Not good, way too sweet,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Hunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Yum! I didn't have any hoisin sauce, but I made some using cashew butter instead of peanut butter; used tamari instead of soy sauce; and used canola oil instead of peanut oil (all changes due to hubby's dietary restrictions). It took me longer than the recipe said to get the pork hot enough, but I think I may have not cooked it long enough the first round. Served this mixed up with rice noodles. We have a new "comfort food"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Five for the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmersville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This was good but not great. I couldn't taste the apple which was disappointing. I even put extra applesauce in. The hoisin and ginger flavors took over but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. Could not taste apple. Way over board with the soy. Need more ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States