Pork Apple Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Made these up quickly for unexpected company and everyone loved them. I cut back to 1/2 of a small Vidalia because of an onion-adverse child & didn't have a Granny Smith so used part of a Fuji. I was nervous because the patties seemed so wet but they cooked up perfectly on the grill. This is a definite keeper. Thanks Kevin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYDUFF
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
UPDATE: I have to add this in, this is such a versatile recipe! I recently put all the burger ingredients together and fried it like ground beef, put the mixture in the fridge and later mixed it into a bagged salad mix and added drained pineapple tiddbits, boxed crutons and a creamy honey mustard dressing...AMAZING! Delicious! It's -40 outside, far to cold to BBQ, so I made these and broiled them in the oven instead. I also didn't have 2 lbs of pork so I halfed the recipe and made little mini type patties. I did find them a little to wet so I added some bread crumbs. I served them with a dipping sauce made with a mayonaise base, crushed pineapple, honey, lemon juice and a little seasoning salt. They were so tasty and so different from the norm. I can't wait till summer so we can try them BBQ'd as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2000
These were great! I added some chopped jalapenos to spice them up a bit. The mixture was a little thin so I added some bread crumbs to firm them up...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2004
These are some dang interesting burgers! A very nice alternative to the usual beef patty. Though the taste is unlike any traditional burger. They are incredibly moist and have a fair hint of sweetness to them. I did not add any breadcrumbs as others have tried. I only had real problems with 1 of the 5 burgers falling apart on the grill. Though you do have to be gentle with them. I followed the recipe exactly EXCEPT I thought the raw pineapples might make it a tad too sweet so before I put them on the finished patties I lightly browned both sides of the pineapple slices over the stove on a skillet. I did put a little bit of mayo on the bottom bun. The only thing I would add next time I make these is some lettuce (I was out dangit) to add some nice crunch and texture which I think would benefit the overall appeal of the burger. All in all not fantastic but very good and definitely worth making again. Nice job Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
These were pretty good. I added half a cup of wholemeal breadcrumbs. Next time I might halve the terayaki sause as I found the burgers to be quite sweet. The burgers were very yummy cold the next day in sandwiches for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
Didn't sound to appetizing but the 5 stars intrigued me to make this. AND I AM SO GLAD I DID!! A great change from beef hamburgers....we also lost some to the grill gods so maybe next time I will add more bread crumbs to stifen it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISSA3

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Hey, this was pretty good! I don't often use ground pork when I cook. I left out the egg and pineapple, added a slice of swiss to each one and spread dijon mustard on the roll. I think we will make this again, though I may use ground turkey next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2000
Rock on! These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mercer Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
We liked them. Not as heavy as beef burgers. A very good change from the norm. Next time I will grill more than one pineapple ring for each burger and maybe a mayo based sauce of some kind to go on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
Made this for dinner last night and it was a hit. Easy recipe. I did have to add some bread crumbs to hold together and had no problem grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States