Porcupines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
I added about half a packet of onion soup mix to the meat mixture and then added some leftover "Devine Spagetti Sauce" I had on hand and it turned out WONDERFULLY! I don't know if I made them too big, but the meatball rolling was a lil messy and and made up for a little more time devoted to prep and clean up, but was well worth it because it was loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, North Carolina, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2001
Delicious!! I have only had porcupines one other time. I love them!! I love to serve them with mashed potatoes. Definately will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
This was a simple but DELICIOUS recipe. Perfect with mashed potatoes and veggie. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2002
A hit with everyone, including my kids, who are impossible to please. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
I am not sure what happened. I followed the recipe exactly but it was really hard to roll the meatballs and while I was browning them they all fell apart. So we ended up with a cassarole type dish. I was really looking forward to meatballs though. I thought combining 1/2 cup of water in with the meat would not turn out great. Overall I was dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
Instead of making meatballs, I brown the crumbled meat. Add the sauce and rice, and simmer in an electric skillet for 45 minutes. GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
Excellent. Omitted the celery salt because I didn't have any on hand but it didn't seem to affect anything. They were great. Even my picky 4 year old ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
These were just what I was looking for...my mother used to make these when I lived at home, but she called them "porcupine balls". Not the best name for food, but I loved them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
This recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
This was ok. It was a good base and could be spiced up. DH hated it, I think it was the rice texture in the meatballs...way too crunchy still even after being cooked in the oven for an hr. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States