Porcupines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I loved these they were little bite sized Meat Loaf. The only thing my niece did not like about them was the onion in them but she said she would eat them again if I didn't put so much onion. My 4 Year old niece loved them so much she ate more of them then I did!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ephraim, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
These are okay. The rice doesn't really stand out flavor or texture wise, so it seems like a waste to add it, which is why I only gave this 3 stars.. I was expecting a little something more from these. Next time I will try this with a flavored instant rice, like mushroom, and see if that makes a difference. I don't really care for red tomato sauces, so I made these with one can (it's all I had at the time) of cream of mushroom soup mixed with 1/2 milk and 1/2 water with a little cornstarch to help thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shampooza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Easy to make, but the flavor was too oniony for kids and too bland for adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Add 1-egg to meatballs, use spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce and poke a small 1/8" breather-hole in center of foil and it's even better! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
We enjoyed these meatballs, but had to modify a little. I added an egg to the mixture to bind better. Used instant rice, added worcestershire sauce and made a sweet and sour tomato sauce to jazz it up a bit from the Cabbage Rolls II recipe here. I did not brown in pan b/f baking, just baked to save time, but it would be better to drain off excess grease if you have the time. My 5yo loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOOK4FUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
I DID NOT ADD ANY WATER. I ADDED WORSTERSHIRE SAUCE, FRESH GARLIC, ONION, BELL PEPPER, DICED VERY SMALL. 1CUP OF RICE TO 2 LBS OF GRD BEEF. I ADDED CILANTRO AND PARSLEY FLAKES. I USED COOKED RICE FROM THE NIGHT BEFORE AND USED CANNED SPAGHETTI SAUCE IN THE MIX AND POURED IT ON TOP. I DID NOT MAKE MINI BALLS, I MADE MINI LOAFS AND ALL 8 OF THEM WERE GONE BY BED TIME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Easy prep for the most part but I tried several batches for browning these and each one fell apart no matter what I did (squeezed out water, made them bigger, made them smaller and yada). Most of the onion and rice was left in the pan and burned. They fell apart on the transfer to be baked and then the rice for the most part was hard and under cooked. There was little to no flavor in these. I will be looking for a better recipe to try these again but I won't be using this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
These were very tasty and super fast and easy to prepare. I think they were just a little too salty for my taste so next time I will at least half the salt. I also think these would be delicious cooked in cream of mushroom soup mixed with a cup of water for a Swedish flare. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
We love this. Nice , quick and easy. We always leave onion out and have to do onion poweder for family memeber preferences but we love this. Nice change from meatoaf . I've made this several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNASMOM79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I had never heard of these before, my fiancée had, so I decided to make them for him. They were good, but a little bland. Maybe, add a little more seasoning to them. I will, definitely, make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States