Porcupines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Excellent and super easy. I did add 2 tsps of worcheshire sauce to tomato sauce mixture & did not brown beforehand as others suggested. Came out perfect! Made red potato mashed potatoes, topped with porcupine and lots of sauce. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jo Stevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
easy and hearty. I doubled the recipe for a food co-op, added an egg for binding. I did the brown and bake which worked fine. After taking out the meatballs I made a roux of tomato sauce and corn starch and whisked it into the baking dish so the sauce was a bit thicker. Served with garlic mashed potatoes and zesty broccoli (from this website)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Good comfort food and the mashed potatoes are a must, followed the recipe no changes and they were all eaten up no leftovers thanks for an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren Causley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I just made this and it was fabulous. It really brought me back to when I was little. My mom would make stuffed peppers or stuffed cabbage and she always made some porcupines to throw in because I didn't like the peppers or cabbage! I also agree with putting 2 tsp of Worcestershire Sauce in the tomato sauce water mixture. I also agree with using 2 - 15 oz. cans of tomato sauce as opposed to one. It gives it way more flavor and lots of juice for the taters! Because I used 2 cans to tomato sauce, I also increased the water to 2 cups and the Worcestershire sauce to 4 tsp. I served mine with mashed potatoes and seasoned steamed broccoli spears. There is only 2 of us so the leftovers are plentiful! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracyk0915

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharpsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This is a good base recipe. The recipe is bland as written. Add your own spice to make it your own. I added Greek seasoning and a bit of chopped green pepper. I also added another 1/2 cup rice to the tomato sauce mix and 2 teaspoons of brown sugar. Used Instant Rice and had no problem with the crunchies. Family loved it ~ so will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Great Recipe. But I broiled the meatballs in the oven for 15 minutes instead of browning them on the stove. Saved me having to stand there. Also i put the rice and 1/2 cup water in the microwave for 5 minutes on high to get it started cooking (did not have instant) and let it cool a bit. this worked perfect and the rice was not hard. Finally I sauteed the onions, added garlic and finely chopped celery instead of celery salt and the garlic powder. Just enough to release the flavors. Used the 2 tsp of Worcestershire in the tomato sauce as suggested by another person and also some Hot Sauce to taste to spice things up, Not wanting to make mashed potato's LOL I served them over perogies. My family scarfed them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These were pretty good. I use French Onion soup instead of tomato sauce and used mostly cooked rice instead. They fell apart a lot so I wonder if just making them in a loaf or just loose would be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I made these tonight and they were very good. I added some chopped parsley to the meat mixture and I also sautéed fresh garlic and onion before adding in. Some meatballs fell apart while cooking but that's ok. I also added salt, pepper, garlic powder, and crushed red pepper to the tomato sauce/water mixture and then I added to meatballs. I felt that it needed more sauce so I added another small can of tomato sauce and bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Flavor great, added chopped green pepper and Worcestershire sauce. Used basmati rice but it didn't get cooked enough. Will try with another type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marvelousmike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Love these! I am ashamed of how many of them I ate, so tasty. I used Cream of Mushroom soup instead of tomato sauce, as that's now my nana used to make them. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Carnation, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States