Porcupines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Great Recipe. But I broiled the meatballs in the oven for 15 minutes instead of browning them on the stove. Saved me having to stand there. Also i put the rice and 1/2 cup water in the microwave for 5 minutes on high to get it started cooking (did not have instant) and let it cool a bit. this worked perfect and the rice was not hard. Finally I sauteed the onions, added garlic and finely chopped celery instead of celery salt and the garlic powder. Just enough to release the flavors. Used the 2 tsp of Worcestershire in the tomato sauce as suggested by another person and also some Hot Sauce to taste to spice things up, Not wanting to make mashed potato's LOL I served them over perogies. My family scarfed them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
These were pretty good. I use French Onion soup instead of tomato sauce and used mostly cooked rice instead. They fell apart a lot so I wonder if just making them in a loaf or just loose would be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I made these tonight and they were very good. I added some chopped parsley to the meat mixture and I also sautéed fresh garlic and onion before adding in. Some meatballs fell apart while cooking but that's ok. I also added salt, pepper, garlic powder, and crushed red pepper to the tomato sauce/water mixture and then I added to meatballs. I felt that it needed more sauce so I added another small can of tomato sauce and bay leaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Flavor great, added chopped green pepper and Worcestershire sauce. Used basmati rice but it didn't get cooked enough. Will try with another type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marvelousmike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Love these! I am ashamed of how many of them I ate, so tasty. I used Cream of Mushroom soup instead of tomato sauce, as that's now my nana used to make them. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Carnation, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I followed the recipe but my rice did not cook. It says uncooked and nowhere does it say to cook. I would also use something other than tomato sauce to cover it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I haven't made this recipe yet, but I was so happy to find it! This is what my mom used to make in the 70's and called it "Porcupine Meat Balls". My dad would joke about whether the porcupine it was made out of was fresh or not. Thanks for posting this, I can't wait to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coronado, California, USA
Living In: Lead Hill, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
This is one of my families favorites. Did not change a thing. Even better as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This is one of my top ground beef meals for weekday or company time. I used an egg to moisten the meat rather than water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margiejo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
mmm very good. The whole family thought these were really great. Only suggestion was maybe throw in some herbs. Went great with mashed potatoes -- especially the left overs combined w/ the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole & Ray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States