Porcupines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
These were good. I will make them again. I did not brown my meatballs. I just shaped them and then poured the sauce over them and baked them covered. When uncovering them be sure to pour some more sauce over the top of them so they don't dry out. Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I like to use tomato soup instead of tomato sauce & put a little sugar in sauce, not so much tomato acid to the pallet. Fix in Pressure cooker rocking for 15 min., cool on it`s own. FANTISTIC!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
These turned out wonderful. I added an egg and had to add some Italian bread crumbs to get the meat to form, let it rest for a hour or 2 in the fridge. Browned in the skillet then placed in a baking dish and covered with fresh homemade sauce and baked for 45 minutes. I couldn't have asked for any better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Staunton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
Had to add an egg and breadcrumbs because they were not holding together. Added garlic for extra flavor. The sauce was a little bland but my 3 y/o gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
The rice needs to be cooked ahead of time and I added a little extra garlic powder. It was delicious, other than the fact that the rice was crunchy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
The porcupines were okay tasting, but I am not going to make it again. I made it just like the recipe said to. First, the meat was slimy from too much water. Second, the meatballs kept falling apart while I was cooking them. Lastly, I thought that the sauce was not enough to cover the meatballs thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I didn't like these. The rice didn't fully cook and they were very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
My family has been making this recipe for many, many years now. The only change we make to this recipe is bypassing the browning step and cooking the balls directly in the oven. Perfect every time. We usually serve these with mashed potatoes and cheesy cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Great recipe! It's my go-to for porcupines, only thing I add is an egg to help bind it together and a tblsp of Worcestershire sauce. Instead of using any water I just use a little more sauce to cover to meatballs. I love making this for dinner cause even my kids(2yrs and 1yr) eat them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Not bad as a basic recipe. I think it could use more salt and more spices. I didn't bother to bake it as well, I just covered the skillet and turned the heat down once the tomato sauce had heated up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States