Porcupines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
The porcupines were okay tasting, but I am not going to make it again. I made it just like the recipe said to. First, the meat was slimy from too much water. Second, the meatballs kept falling apart while I was cooking them. Lastly, I thought that the sauce was not enough to cover the meatballs thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I didn't like these. The rice didn't fully cook and they were very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
My family has been making this recipe for many, many years now. The only change we make to this recipe is bypassing the browning step and cooking the balls directly in the oven. Perfect every time. We usually serve these with mashed potatoes and cheesy cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Great recipe! It's my go-to for porcupines, only thing I add is an egg to help bind it together and a tblsp of Worcestershire sauce. Instead of using any water I just use a little more sauce to cover to meatballs. I love making this for dinner cause even my kids(2yrs and 1yr) eat them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Not bad as a basic recipe. I think it could use more salt and more spices. I didn't bother to bake it as well, I just covered the skillet and turned the heat down once the tomato sauce had heated up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Excellent and super easy. I did add 2 tsps of worcheshire sauce to tomato sauce mixture & did not brown beforehand as others suggested. Came out perfect! Made red potato mashed potatoes, topped with porcupine and lots of sauce. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jo Stevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
easy and hearty. I doubled the recipe for a food co-op, added an egg for binding. I did the brown and bake which worked fine. After taking out the meatballs I made a roux of tomato sauce and corn starch and whisked it into the baking dish so the sauce was a bit thicker. Served with garlic mashed potatoes and zesty broccoli (from this website)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Good comfort food and the mashed potatoes are a must, followed the recipe no changes and they were all eaten up no leftovers thanks for an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
I just made this and it was fabulous. It really brought me back to when I was little. My mom would make stuffed peppers or stuffed cabbage and she always made some porcupines to throw in because I didn't like the peppers or cabbage! I also agree with putting 2 tsp of Worcestershire Sauce in the tomato sauce water mixture. I also agree with using 2 - 15 oz. cans of tomato sauce as opposed to one. It gives it way more flavor and lots of juice for the taters! Because I used 2 cans to tomato sauce, I also increased the water to 2 cups and the Worcestershire sauce to 4 tsp. I served mine with mashed potatoes and seasoned steamed broccoli spears. There is only 2 of us so the leftovers are plentiful! I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracyk0915

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharpsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This is a good base recipe. The recipe is bland as written. Add your own spice to make it your own. I added Greek seasoning and a bit of chopped green pepper. I also added another 1/2 cup rice to the tomato sauce mix and 2 teaspoons of brown sugar. Used Instant Rice and had no problem with the crunchies. Family loved it ~ so will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States