Porcupines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Cheryl King
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I made this with Johnsonville Sweet sausage instead of ground beef, and made a sweet and sour sauce instead of tomato. It was delicious. The rice was just slightly too hard, I'm not sure how that could have been solved, perhaps a little more water in the mixture. This is the only reason I gave it a 4 star instead of 5. I would definately make this again - both ways, with sausage or ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Just like my mom used to make! Awesome and easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by April's Kitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My family LOVES this! Quoting my brother, "It tastes like it came from a restaurant!" I might consider using sweet onions as a trick. Maybe I'll experiment this with the slow cooker, too! Highly suggest, and can see making it agian! As for me, it is great. Personally, I prefer it without onions, but, hey, that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
My Mom made these for us all the time. Her recipe was basically the same with the addition of a teaspoon of poultry seasoning. I make them now and again and they are just as good as when Mom made them. I am 68.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
These were ok. The leftovers went slowly. Nice for a once in a while thing when you're sick of the regular stuff that you do with ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
My mom used to always make porcupines when I was little, but sadly, this was one recipe that I didn't remember by heart. I decided to give this one a shot. I noticed the recipe did not call for eggs, but since it was the first time I was trying it, I decided not to alter the recipe. Big, BIG mistake. This recipe most definitely needs eggs to help hold the meat together. The balls fell apart pretty badly during the cooking process. Ah well. We'll try again next time ... but definitely with eggs. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I made this recipe twice. The first time, I used cooked brown rice and it turned out well. The second time, I used uncooked white (not instant) rice, but found the mix needed an egg and some breadcrumbs to bind enough to form meatballs. With cream of mushroom soup or tomato sauce for the gravy, either way it is a very good comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Great! I had to modify based on what I had, added the Worchester like someone mentioned to the sauce. We ate it up! I didn't brown first, just plopped them in the pan and covered with sauce. Will def make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mcallen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This is a must try. Prepare the night before and it would make for an easy day the next day. I think that you could even get away with adding spaghetti noodles if wanted to make the dish go even further. It made a lot of food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
For some reason this just wasn't a hit at my house. I felt is was just ok. Maybe I wasn't sure what I was expecting to taste this being my first time eating this. Most likely will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Curtis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

These stuffed cabbage rolls make a great dinner for a crowd.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States