Porcupine Meatballs III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I've been making these for a few years now -- this recipe is one of my regulars. The whole family likes them! I add one tsp of Worcestershire and also a dollop of jarred garlic (mixing them into the meat). Also, I typically use brown instant rice and after browning the meatballs in a small amount of olive oil (no shortening), I pop 'em into my crockpot! About 2 hours or so on low and they're perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
It's just like eating the inside of a stuffed pepper without the pepper! I added the garlic right to the meatball mixture along with a little salt and pepper and instead of mustard I added a tsp. of white vinegar to the soup. I baked these in the oven completely. Serve with mashed potatoes - great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
These were really yummy. I mixed the garlic into the meatballs themselves instead of in the pan. Next time I think I will double the sauce so we have more. I had no problems with the taste of the sauce it was perfect for us. I served on top of mashed potatos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Great taste! Loved the sauce! I too added the Worcestershire sauce both to the meatball mix and to the sauce. I'm going to use this recipe the next time I make stuffed green peppers - far better taste than the recipe I've used in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Wonderful, husband loved them and the kids ate them too. I also added worcestershire sauce because others did but mostly because I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I found this recipe in a Home and Gardens cook book in the early 80's. It was always a favorite when my children were little and is still a hit with the grandchildren. Besides being quick, it's another great use for hamberger in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I made this last night and everyone raved! Two of my children have their pasta and meatballs without sauce as they have an aversion to tomato sauce. Those two even loved the sauce! It's similar to a plain Spag O's type sauce. I am a time cruncher so I made the meatballs on a jelly roll pan and broiled them on both sides. Saved the time, fat, and mess of pan frying! I then sauted the garlic in a large pot with a little healthier olive oil. I added black pepper and as suggested, the worcestershire sauce. I used a very low fat cut of ground beef I think it was 93 percent fat free. Next time I may go with ground turkey. I also think adding some chopped green pepper to the garlic and oil just might give the flavor of an unstuffed pepper! I tossed some frozen sweet peas and corn in my bowties for the last 3 minutes of boiling and no one noticed as they gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
These held together so much better than some others I have tried. I also added some minced directly into to meat mixture. I skipped the frying and baked them at 350 for 30 min and then added the sauce and baked them another 15 minutes. Not as messy! I made fairly big meatballs, reduce the cooking time if you make smaller ones. I also doubled the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
The meatballs were delicious! I didn't have any condensed tomato soup so I used a can of tomato sauce. I wouldn't recommend that. There was hardly any sauce and the flavor wasn't very good. The meatballs were AMAZING! I did add some garlic from the jar. My hubby and my son loved these meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I read the reviews before making this recipe and added the Worceshire sauce in the mix. I also didn't have tomato soup so I substituted that for Prego tomato sauce (original) and it turned out absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleJC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States