Porcupine Meatballs III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Very good recipe. Along with other reviewers, I doubled the rice and baked meatballs in the oven. After 30mins at 350, I ladled sauce on top of the meatballs and cooked another 15mins. I also used half ground beef and half italian sausage-which did add to the baking time. I did make a few with just ground beef and the whole family agreed, the ones with sausage were far and away the best. I served these over egg noodles but do not recommend the tomato soup sauce as a gravy. I think good, homemade spaghetti sauce would be better, after they were baked with the original sauce. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLLEY411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I've been making these for a few years now -- this recipe is one of my regulars. The whole family likes them! I add one tsp of Worcestershire and also a dollop of jarred garlic (mixing them into the meat). Also, I typically use brown instant rice and after browning the meatballs in a small amount of olive oil (no shortening), I pop 'em into my crockpot! About 2 hours or so on low and they're perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
Adding the soup to the meatballs gives them a little more flavor and keeps them moist. Because I had to brown mine in batches I ended up just adding the garlic to the sauce. I needed a little extra zip in my sauce too, so I added some Worchestshire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
It's just like eating the inside of a stuffed pepper without the pepper! I added the garlic right to the meatball mixture along with a little salt and pepper and instead of mustard I added a tsp. of white vinegar to the soup. I baked these in the oven completely. Serve with mashed potatoes - great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I misplaced my family's recipe for these - so of course I came here! This one was very close to what we've always made, with the exception of the mustard. I added some Worcestershire Sauce, about a teaspoon, and they were absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
These meatballs are just simply good. My picky teens both complimented me and my husband loved them too. They appeal to wide variety of tastes. I used ground turkey instead of beef and omited the onion and garlic because my husband hates them. I just put in a little onion and garlic powder so he wouldn't know. I also added worchestshire to the sauce and the meatballs as recommended by someone else. I browned them in a covered skillet and then baked them until done. They came out very tender. I doubled the batch and we had them on pasta the next night. Everyone still loved them. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I am not a big meatball/meatloaf person, but I tried this recipe and really enjoyed the flavor of these. I added 1 tsp of worcestershire sauce to the meat, as I'd seen in some reviews, but that was the only change I made. My husband and I both enjoyed the tangy flavor. Plus, it's a great option we're you're trying to eat cheap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RomeLover85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I found this recipe in a Home and Gardens cook book in the early 80's. It was always a favorite when my children were little and is still a hit with the grandchildren. Besides being quick, it's another great use for hamberger in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Great taste! Loved the sauce! I too added the Worcestershire sauce both to the meatball mix and to the sauce. I'm going to use this recipe the next time I make stuffed green peppers - far better taste than the recipe I've used in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
We LOVED this!! I doubled the rice and should have doubled the sauce, but it still came out delicious. I browned the meatballs then put them in the crockpot on low for 2 hours as suggested by another reviewer. Also, I added 1 tsp of worcesteshire to the sauce. Even my one year old gave a satisfied "mmmm" after every bite. My very skeptical fiance finished the leftovers the same night that we had it for dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States