Porcupine Meatballs III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Very good recipe. Along with other reviewers, I doubled the rice and baked meatballs in the oven. After 30mins at 350, I ladled sauce on top of the meatballs and cooked another 15mins. I also used half ground beef and half italian sausage-which did add to the baking time. I did make a few with just ground beef and the whole family agreed, the ones with sausage were far and away the best. I served these over egg noodles but do not recommend the tomato soup sauce as a gravy. I think good, homemade spaghetti sauce would be better, after they were baked with the original sauce. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLLEY411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I've been making these for a few years now -- this recipe is one of my regulars. The whole family likes them! I add one tsp of Worcestershire and also a dollop of jarred garlic (mixing them into the meat). Also, I typically use brown instant rice and after browning the meatballs in a small amount of olive oil (no shortening), I pop 'em into my crockpot! About 2 hours or so on low and they're perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
Adding the soup to the meatballs gives them a little more flavor and keeps them moist. Because I had to brown mine in batches I ended up just adding the garlic to the sauce. I needed a little extra zip in my sauce too, so I added some Worchestshire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
It's just like eating the inside of a stuffed pepper without the pepper! I added the garlic right to the meatball mixture along with a little salt and pepper and instead of mustard I added a tsp. of white vinegar to the soup. I baked these in the oven completely. Serve with mashed potatoes - great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I misplaced my family's recipe for these - so of course I came here! This one was very close to what we've always made, with the exception of the mustard. I added some Worcestershire Sauce, about a teaspoon, and they were absolutely yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
These meatballs are just simply good. My picky teens both complimented me and my husband loved them too. They appeal to wide variety of tastes. I used ground turkey instead of beef and omited the onion and garlic because my husband hates them. I just put in a little onion and garlic powder so he wouldn't know. I also added worchestshire to the sauce and the meatballs as recommended by someone else. I browned them in a covered skillet and then baked them until done. They came out very tender. I doubled the batch and we had them on pasta the next night. Everyone still loved them. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I am not a big meatball/meatloaf person, but I tried this recipe and really enjoyed the flavor of these. I added 1 tsp of worcestershire sauce to the meat, as I'd seen in some reviews, but that was the only change I made. My husband and I both enjoyed the tangy flavor. Plus, it's a great option we're you're trying to eat cheap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RomeLover85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I found this recipe in a Home and Gardens cook book in the early 80's. It was always a favorite when my children were little and is still a hit with the grandchildren. Besides being quick, it's another great use for hamberger in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Great taste! Loved the sauce! I too added the Worcestershire sauce both to the meatball mix and to the sauce. I'm going to use this recipe the next time I make stuffed green peppers - far better taste than the recipe I've used in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
We LOVED this!! I doubled the rice and should have doubled the sauce, but it still came out delicious. I browned the meatballs then put them in the crockpot on low for 2 hours as suggested by another reviewer. Also, I added 1 tsp of worcesteshire to the sauce. Even my one year old gave a satisfied "mmmm" after every bite. My very skeptical fiance finished the leftovers the same night that we had it for dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States