Porcupine Meatballs III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I've been making these for a few years now -- this recipe is one of my regulars. The whole family likes them! I add one tsp of Worcestershire and also a dollop of jarred garlic (mixing them into the meat). Also, I typically use brown instant rice and after browning the meatballs in a small amount of olive oil (no shortening), I pop 'em into my crockpot! About 2 hours or so on low and they're perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This was good! My kids liked it, my husband liked it, and I couldn't stop eating it! I mistakenly added the mustard in with the meat mixture, but it still turned out well. I've already gotten a second request for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
These meatballs are just simply good. My picky teens both complimented me and my husband loved them too. They appeal to wide variety of tastes. I used ground turkey instead of beef and omited the onion and garlic because my husband hates them. I just put in a little onion and garlic powder so he wouldn't know. I also added worchestshire to the sauce and the meatballs as recommended by someone else. I browned them in a covered skillet and then baked them until done. They came out very tender. I doubled the batch and we had them on pasta the next night. Everyone still loved them. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I found this recipe in a Home and Gardens cook book in the early 80's. It was always a favorite when my children were little and is still a hit with the grandchildren. Besides being quick, it's another great use for hamberger in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Very good recipe. Along with other reviewers, I doubled the rice and baked meatballs in the oven. After 30mins at 350, I ladled sauce on top of the meatballs and cooked another 15mins. I also used half ground beef and half italian sausage-which did add to the baking time. I did make a few with just ground beef and the whole family agreed, the ones with sausage were far and away the best. I served these over egg noodles but do not recommend the tomato soup sauce as a gravy. I think good, homemade spaghetti sauce would be better, after they were baked with the original sauce. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLLEY411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
The meatballs were alright. The sauce was a little too tangy for our taste. If you cook too long the meatballs fall apart. Good for folks with tangy tastebuds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: New Hamburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Wonderful, husband loved them and the kids ate them too. I also added worcestershire sauce because others did but mostly because I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I guess I'm the only one who didn't love these! Thay had a funny aftertaste to me. Husband said "Eh" and ate three, No one else would eat them and the leftovers got thrown out. Thanks anyway for your submission,but I won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Great taste! Loved the sauce! I too added the Worcestershire sauce both to the meatball mix and to the sauce. I'm going to use this recipe the next time I make stuffed green peppers - far better taste than the recipe I've used in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I read the reviews before making this recipe and added the Worceshire sauce in the mix. I also didn't have tomato soup so I substituted that for Prego tomato sauce (original) and it turned out absolutely delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichelleJC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States