Porcupine Meatballs III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Just made these.... Very bland. Needs more salt or garlic salt, pepper, parsley and adding a TBSP of Worcestershire or vinegar would help it! That amount of salt is not nearly enough to compensate for the beef plus rice which absorbs it. Also I would suggest using garlic and onion POwDErS as opposed to the raw chunks, because all those make the meatballs fall apart and not stick together. I will definitely make again but with those changes for sure! Just a thought..... I am wondering if using ketchup in the meatball mixture as opposed to plain tomato soup would taste much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
These are awesome if you add a little bit more spice in the meat mixture. No need to use the stove top, bake meatballs at 350 for 30 minutes, spoon the sauce over them, bake for 15 more minutes. Easy and seriously tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yumbolt
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
we loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yumbolt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, except I doubled it, and simmered my meatballs for 20 minutes in a big pot, and they are still not done. I am going on 40 minutes now. Just be aware if you cook it on the stove-top that 20 minutes is not long enough to simmer them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTMomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I really enjoyed these. After they were done cooking I did add a jar of spaghetti sauce and served them with noodles. It was a good way to use up tomato soup in the cupboard. My husband loved them too and said we have to make them again. So here I am cooking em a second time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Miaka
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Tasteless and didn't stick together. Sad, because it was a different and good idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miaka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Absolutely amazing only thing i did different was instead of an 1/8 teaspoon of garlic i put 1/4 and i used garlic and onion tomato sauce. but its awesome i couldn't stop eating and my son loved them he asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samsterdam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Really GOOD and easy to make! I added tablespoon of 57 Sauce, teaspoon of oregano, and some pepper to give them some extra pizzaz, and I think they needed the help or they would have been a little boring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
It is saying something if two and half year old, is eating this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
These are good- maybe a little bland, however. I wish they had a little more tang and a little more sauce. Skip the shortening and saute in olive oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States