Porcupine Meatballs III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
These were very good. I doubled and pretty much followed the recipe exactly. The only thing I did differently was add the garlic directly into the mixture and I also added some Worcestershire to it. I hadn't made porcupines in about 5 years, when my oldest was around 6. She hated them (used a diff. recipe). It was one of only 5 foods she ever swore she hated. Now at 11 she protested loudly when I said I was making them tonight for dinner. However, she LOVED them. I gave her 3 to start out with and she went back for 3 more. These were really good. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ceyanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
These held together so much better than some others I have tried. I also added some minced directly into to meat mixture. I skipped the frying and baked them at 350 for 30 min and then added the sauce and baked them another 15 minutes. Not as messy! I made fairly big meatballs, reduce the cooking time if you make smaller ones. I also doubled the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I made this last night and everyone raved! Two of my children have their pasta and meatballs without sauce as they have an aversion to tomato sauce. Those two even loved the sauce! It's similar to a plain Spag O's type sauce. I am a time cruncher so I made the meatballs on a jelly roll pan and broiled them on both sides. Saved the time, fat, and mess of pan frying! I then sauted the garlic in a large pot with a little healthier olive oil. I added black pepper and as suggested, the worcestershire sauce. I used a very low fat cut of ground beef I think it was 93 percent fat free. Next time I may go with ground turkey. I also think adding some chopped green pepper to the garlic and oil just might give the flavor of an unstuffed pepper! I tossed some frozen sweet peas and corn in my bowties for the last 3 minutes of boiling and no one noticed as they gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
The meatballs were delicious! I didn't have any condensed tomato soup so I used a can of tomato sauce. I wouldn't recommend that. There was hardly any sauce and the flavor wasn't very good. The meatballs were AMAZING! I did add some garlic from the jar. My hubby and my son loved these meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I thought this recipe was pretty great! Easy and quick, there was enough sauce to serve with bow tie pasta. I sprinkled parmesan cheese on top which was very yummy. I used the leftovers to make a delicious meatball sandwich the next day. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by citizengirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
These were really yummy. I mixed the garlic into the meatballs themselves instead of in the pan. Next time I think I will double the sauce so we have more. I had no problems with the taste of the sauce it was perfect for us. I served on top of mashed potatos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
It's just like eating the inside of a stuffed pepper without the pepper! I added the garlic right to the meatball mixture along with a little salt and pepper and instead of mustard I added a tsp. of white vinegar to the soup. I baked these in the oven completely. Serve with mashed potatoes - great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Tasty recipe! I did add garlic powder (we love garlic) to the meat mixture along with some Watkins Meat Magic. The next time I make these I think I'll use 2 cans of tomato soup and one can of water. The sauce was great but there wasn't enough of it for our tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Pretty good. The family all enjoyed it. I usually always follow the recipe for "porcupines" on this site but thought this seemed worth a try. I will make again. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I've been making these for a few years now -- this recipe is one of my regulars. The whole family likes them! I add one tsp of Worcestershire and also a dollop of jarred garlic (mixing them into the meat). Also, I typically use brown instant rice and after browning the meatballs in a small amount of olive oil (no shortening), I pop 'em into my crockpot! About 2 hours or so on low and they're perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

World's Fastest Meatballs

Make delicious meatballs, the super-fast way!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States