Porcupine Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I made mine in the oven with a few minor changes to this recipe. I substituted one small fresh chopped onion, added some garlic powder and an egg and used 2 cans of soup instead of one. I put the meatballs in a casserole dish and popped them in the oven at 350 degrees for one hour and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bever-li
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
My family gave these a 5+++++. These are easy to make I baked mine instead of doing them on the stove top. Bake them for 1 hr. But I did everything as the recipe called for. Served them with mashed potatoes like other veiwers sugjested and salad. Will be making them again. =) =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bever-li

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
I took some advice from other reviewers and added 1/2 c. breadcrumbs and an egg to help hold the meatballs together. To reduce the amount of grease in the sauce, use lean beef. Finally, there was definitely not enough sauce; I added a jar of spaghetti sauce during the last five minutes of simmering to add quantity and flavor. Overall, good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
Not the best. See my review for Hedgehogs to fix this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
These are very fast, easy, and oh so yummy!!! You do need more than 1 can of soup though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberNicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Great recipe! I used Cream of Mushroom soup instead of the tomato, tossed in a bit of oregano and it turned out fabulously. Next time, I'll cut the salt in half though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I usually use 1 can of tomato soup and 1 can of tomato sauce to thicken it up. Also put thickly sliced green bell peppers and onions in the pot...best when baked covered in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I made these meatballs with more salt and pepper, onion powder, a dash of italian seasonings and with Cambells ready to serve Cream of Tomato Soup without diluting. I also added 2 eggs to help them bind. I loved the flavor but with cooking the meatbals in the soup, the sauce was insanely greasy! Next time I'll oven brown them first them simmer in sauce to cut down on grease. Kids loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
i was really surprised i like this recipe so much because i am not a big fan of meatballs but these were delicious. it could have used a little more sauce but other than that they were great. i will make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2002
Super fantastic meal for the the family. We have five children and the all rated the meal a 4-5star. I added extra seasoning first time around, tasted fantastic and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States