Porcupine Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I have been making these for many years but a little different. I add a little liquid smoke, a little rice in the sauce and bake them. And I have to say they aren't one of my favorite dishes but good for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Its so much better if you used cream of celery soup- 2 cans.W/ 2 cans of water.and when it is served sprinkle alittle of soy sauce...sooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by me
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is the same recipe my mom used to make these when we were growing up. One of my comfort foods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
My mother made these meatballs for many years and I've continued to make them over the years but we do it a bit differently. You definitely need an egg and some seasoned bread crumbs to bind the meat/rice mixture. I always cook some bite sized pieces of carrot and potato in water, drain off part of the water when the vegetables are done. I use two cans of tomato soup and add to the vegetables along with some chopped onion. Heat thoroughly and then add your cooked meat balls to the stew, heat and serve. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is like an old recipe my grandmother used to make...She added green peppers to the soup. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
My family loves this!! My Mom made this recipe when I was a young girl out of a Campbells cookbook......Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dludewig

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Meadow, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
OMG, this is a great old fashioned recipe. I was just telling friends about porcupines and no one had even heard of it. This is just good old comfort food. I even use left over rice if I have any. Keep up the good work - we love the old, easy stuff. The stuff we grew up eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I usually use 1 can of tomato soup and 1 can of tomato sauce to thicken it up. Also put thickly sliced green bell peppers and onions in the pot...best when baked covered in the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
A friend of mine was having a birthday and said he really wanted these. He described them and I was pretty suspicious, I wasn't sure I'd like them. Well I was wrong. These were amazing, The first batch's rice wasn't really done all the way but it was still good. The whole thing was wonderful and I got some great pictures of them that I might add. They're so aptly named, when I pulled the lid off of the pan the rice was sticking up just like porcupine quills. Very cute. Will definitely be adding this to my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Awesome! I added green onions and red peppers to the meatballs - so good! I also used a jar of speg. sauce instead of tomato soup. I served mine with garlic bread and steamed veggies. Next time I might add a little tomato soup to the meatballs like the recipe suggested. GOOD and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States