Porcupine Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
My mom used to make these for us when we were kids. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lukeslytalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Very good and easy! Kids loved it. Doubled the sauce. Added garlic. Cooked up very quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Great recipe. Easy, quick. I did add an egg as a binder for the meat, and threw in some bread crumbs I had leftover. Also used half a jar of marina sauce (along with the tomato soup), and a small onion. Was super moist, boyfriend loved it. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
wrap them in cabbage leaves and call them pigs in the blanket
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
My mother used to make these, so I am slightly biased, ya know, nothing is as good as a childhood memory. Use lean ground beef, and skip the instant rice, use real white. Add an egg and a couple tablespoons of breadcrumbs in the meat mixture. Saute the onions with fresh garlic if you have time. It's a little sweet with tomato soup, I'm going to try a good tomato sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Very yummy, fast and easy. I made a few changes and will add more sauce next time. Thank you for a great base recipe. I can't wait to make it my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I don't feel justified in giving this a five. Not that there's anything wrong with the recipe---only that I could not accomplish a worthy product through it. Most reviews said that grandma used to make this. This, then, is a simple recipe that has so many nuances that only a grandma can do it right, and then not the first time. My meatballs fell apart, even with an egg included. They had a radius of one inch, not a diameter--my fault, and a BIG one. One can of tomato soup and a half-can of water seems awfully dry. My meatballs wouldn't brown without falling apart. I feel challenged!!! We ate the residues, but, by Golly, I can do better. Both of my grandmas are gone, as well as my mother and mother-in-law, but I'll study the comments until I can derive a WINNER. I WANT these meatballs!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Made for dinner and everyone loved them. I did add egg, bread crumbs and Paula Dean's house seasoning. Reminded me of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
easy and kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Chanhassen, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Just like mom use to make. I added an extra can of cause I like more sauce. I also added an egg to help give the meat balls some more structure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaxIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States