Porcupine Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I didn't change a thing and these were great! This is a great recipe for kids to help make. My kids loved making them and they loved eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
My mom made these when I was small, so glad I found the recipe, it turned out just as I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
excellent recipe, I followed suggestions to bake in oven at 350 and use a real onion.. YUM YUM YUM oh and i prefer mushroom soup too..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I used long-grain white rice instead of the instant and doubled the amount of simmering time, and it still never got done all the way. Next time I think I will precook the rice. My husband and kids still ate it though and said it tasted good, aside from the crunchy rice. I did double the soup since we prefer a lot of sauce. It's a really fun recipe though, so I will give it another chance for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
using instant rice kept these from really "porcupining" but tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
A good starting place. I added a couple of tomatoes diced, (they needed to be used), a small can of tomato sauce, an egg and some bread crumbs. I still had problems with them falling apart though. I baked in the oven too. Kids loved them! Served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Yummy! My mama used to make these = ) I changed it up a little...but still a great recipe! Here are my changes: 1) Used Rice a Roni beef flavor and browned the rice before adding to meat.I added an egg and about a half c. or more of bread crumbs to make the mixture firm. I also added MORE onion and seasoning than this recipe calls... for. 2) Added the seasoning packet from the box to the soup mixture, as well as a sm. can of green chilies and about a half c. of ketchup. 3) Browned the meatballs...because I just always have any time I make them. it seems to make them hold together. I placed the balls in a baking dish and covered them evenly with the sauce. Not sure of bake time... 30-45 min depending on how well you brown them. = )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabianna84

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I loved this! Quick and easy, i put mine in a baking dish and into the oven at 375 for about 45 mins. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
My husband and I will make these again. Our 2 kids liked them as well. I do agree I will get 2 cans of sauce next time and maybe a tiny pinch of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
These turned out very good. I did have to add another can of tomato soup. And I accidentally used regular rice instead of instant. So I simmered them about twice as long to make sure the rice got tender. Definitely good over some plain rice or mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States