Porcupine Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Jackie Y 60123
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
In my opinion, needs more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
These are about like my Mom made for years. One of my favorite comfort meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This receipe is great as I am a working mum of a 2.5yr old, but I also made a couple of changes. I added in finely grated carrot and zuchinni into the meat mixture with a little mixed herb a cup of breadcrumbs and an egg. Also used a can of chopped tomatoes with the can of soup for the meatballs to simmer in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
My family didn't LOVE this, but it was fun to try something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This is an old recipe my mom used to make when I was a kid. But we used tomato juice instead of soup to simmer the meatballs in after they were browned. We also threw in large chunks of peeled potatoes at the same time. By the time the potatoes are done, so are the meatballs. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
My Mom has been making this since the 50's and its the best. I make it for my family now and they love it. Sometimes and use Cream of Mushroom soup instead of Tomato soup and that is also good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cabin cat
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Wow! thanks for the recipe. I used to make this in the pressure cooker 10 min @ full pressure. Sometimes I chunked up a few potatoes to cook along, the meat and tomato soup made great gravy! Haven't had it since my presto needed a gasket seal and was told the gasket wasn't available because my cooker was obsolete!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cabin cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Like several posters here, I have been eating this since I was a kid...my mom used to make them and they were my favorite...then when I had my own kids, they loved them too...so does hubby...but adding all those other things takes away from the simplicity and great taste of the porcupines...I have started to add onion and garlic pieces...dried, to the beef...and I always use an egg to mix the beef and rice together to bind and hold together...I brown the meatballs, then when they are browned all around and cooked through, I pour both cans of tomato soup over the meat and let them cook a bit longer, on the stove top...this is definitely one of my favorites and always has been. ps...I also have started using some bottled beef seasoning, or steak seasoning...McCormick's Montreal Steak, or Weber Gourmet Burger or Chicago Steak seasoing...or some of all together to the meat...not too much, just enough to lift out the flavor of the dish...these are so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I have been making this for years and it is a great meal but I do not use instant rice and a bit of minced green pepper makes it even tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I've made this for YEARS and my Mom before me - a family favorite. BUT...I use at least 2 cans of soup, 2 cans water and toward the end, one can of milk. I like a LOT of gravy (I put in a large pot) and at the end thicken with cornstarch and water slurry. I add more rice to the gravy at first and lots of salt of pepper and lots of creamy mashed potatoes and.....yyyuummmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States