Porcupine Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
My mom used to make these for us when we were kids. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate Balcom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Very good and easy! Kids loved it. Doubled the sauce. Added garlic. Cooked up very quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Great recipe. Easy, quick. I did add an egg as a binder for the meat, and threw in some bread crumbs I had leftover. Also used half a jar of marina sauce (along with the tomato soup), and a small onion. Was super moist, boyfriend loved it. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
wrap them in cabbage leaves and call them pigs in the blanket
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
My mother used to make these, so I am slightly biased, ya know, nothing is as good as a childhood memory. Use lean ground beef, and skip the instant rice, use real white. Add an egg and a couple tablespoons of breadcrumbs in the meat mixture. Saute the onions with fresh garlic if you have time. It's a little sweet with tomato soup, I'm going to try a good tomato sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
Very yummy, fast and easy. I made a few changes and will add more sauce next time. Thank you for a great base recipe. I can't wait to make it my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
I don't feel justified in giving this a five. Not that there's anything wrong with the recipe---only that I could not accomplish a worthy product through it. Most reviews said that grandma used to make this. This, then, is a simple recipe that has so many nuances that only a grandma can do it right, and then not the first time. My meatballs fell apart, even with an egg included. They had a radius of one inch, not a diameter--my fault, and a BIG one. One can of tomato soup and a half-can of water seems awfully dry. My meatballs wouldn't brown without falling apart. I feel challenged!!! We ate the residues, but, by Golly, I can do better. Both of my grandmas are gone, as well as my mother and mother-in-law, but I'll study the comments until I can derive a WINNER. I WANT these meatballs!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Made for dinner and everyone loved them. I did add egg, bread crumbs and Paula Dean's house seasoning. Reminded me of my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
easy and kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longwood, Florida, USA
Living In: Chanhassen, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Just like mom use to make. I added an extra can of cause I like more sauce. I also added an egg to help give the meat balls some more structure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaxIvy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Porcupine Meatballs

Your kids will love helping you make, and eat, these spiky delights.

Slow Cooker Porcupine Meatballs with Peppers

Zesty porcupine meatballs simmered in a flavorful tomato sauce with peppers.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States