Porcini Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Very easy and delicious. No time to marinade so rubbed with 2T Herbs de Provence (1/2 c seemed like a lot to me) browned roasts and then baked as directed. I deglazed the pan and then cooked off the garlic and mushrooms for a few minutes and added them to the roast after about 10 min. If I had time I would make this exactly as directed. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cccme

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katjanas
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I cooked two 1.5 lb tenderloins. The sauce was rich and delicious, but I will double it next time. There was only enough sauce for one of the tenderloins! I used a little less cognac and Herbes de Provence, but I wish I had used the full amount of cognac. I think there would have been even better flavor if I had let it marinate longer (I only had 2 hours). When I browned the meat over high temp, the garlic started burning in the pan. Wish I had scraped some of it off before hand. Still delicious and the meat was cooked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katjanas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I add yellow potatoes, green beans, onions and home grown carrots. I have been marinating the pork and I think this will be delicious. I don't have mushrooms so I figured I improvise in the oven:) Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
First, I will say that I followed this recipe to a tee. I really wanted to love this dish. The pork itself was outstanding, juicy and succulent. The sauce however was way too sweet and 'sryupy' tasting due to the honey. The honey just did not go well with the other sauce ingredients. I made another mushroom sauce the day after which was much better. Shallots, mushrooms, sour cream and heavy cream. Simple and savory. If you want a sweet sauce with the pork, I suggest a fruit-based sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnimalCrackers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This review is for the sauce only. I had prepared my tenderloins sous vide, and was looking for a sauce to complement the pork. I followed the recipe, with the exception of using a little milk in lieu of cream. This was exceptionally bland for us. I had to increase seasoning--I even added a packet of Herb-Ox No Sodium Beef bouillon, as well as salt and multiple grinds of pepper. I used the juice of an entire lemon, and used the honey as directed. Still not enough. I had used very high quality dried porcinis, and put the rehydrating liquid through a coffee filter to remove any grit. I used Hennessey for the Cognac, as well as good quality unsalted European style butter. After a LOT of tweaking of this recipe, it did finally come together. But not without huge alterations, finally including a generous dose of sambal oelek. I give 2 stars, just for the initial idea of a few ingredients. Without my adjustments, we would not have eaten this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Totally awesome recipe! Everyone loved it. Only difference I made was to add salt and pepper to the marinade, which enhanced the flavor of the herbs. I also found that making the herbs de Provence mixture myself was better than the premixed. Make sure to use heavy cream, as I found lighter cream tended to separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nürnberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Used less herbs for marinade. Used frozen porcini mushrooms. Substituted brandy for cognac. Too sweet. Overall was pretty good, but next time I will omit the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
We make this when we have guests we really want to impress. It is phenomenally delicious, and we've gotten nothing but rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Excellent. Kids love it too. Substituted shiitake. Definitely use less herbs de Provence (about 1/4 cup is more than enough). I think the stated baking time is too short, needs at least 40min in oven. Will be trying the sauce on other meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
It was overwhelmingly mediocre. Followed the recipe to a tee...none of us really cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellarbeing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Polo, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States