Porchetta Italiana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Last year I made this for my family for x-mas and they just loved it, every year I try a new theme but this year they wanted the same they liked it so SO MUCH. I is very good and I think fast due to its all preped 3 days before and the roast is cheap..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Great recipe! Made it for New Year's Eve dinner and it was a big hit with my Italian husband. He said he was having flashbacks to his childhood in the Abruzzeze region of Italy and buying a porchetta sandwich from the street vendors. Only marinated for maybe a day, and skipped the dill weed coz I did not have any. I had an 8 lb bone in pork shoulder, and it took maybe about 3-1/2 hours. Tender, moist, fragrant, fatty goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Im writting you all again, I was the review OVATION, Now Im telling you this I have made this for almost every x-mas and I have to make more due to everyone wants leftovers to bring home. It is such a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
BE WARNED!!!...This is an authentic variation of the Porchetta....It is NOT nor was it ever intented to be a LEAN Healthy Roast! This most popular preparation in Italy, is most commonly made from an entire Pig or for smaller amounts just the Pork BELLY. It is intended to be a celebration of the Piggy in all it wonderful FATTY, FLAVORFUL, GOODNESS! ENJOY YOURSELF for once, you can go back to Carrot Sticks and Fat Free Yogurt tomorrow! BTW...450F for the first 30 minutes will yield a crispier skin and shallow Cross cuts, just through the skin, will make the roast pretty and easier to portion the tasty 'cracklin'. Happy New Year...JJ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Wow! This was the best pork roast I have ever made. The flavor was great. My roast was tender and moist. But I did cook it in a roasting bag because I was afraid I would dry it out. I also used a meat thermometer and made sure that I didn't over cook it. I took one reviewers suggestion and cut the salt in half just because I didn't want it to be overly salty. You can add it but you can't take it away. I'm glad I did because it was perfect. This is now my favorite pork roast recipe. UPDATE: Most of the time I only marinate this for 6-8 hours and it still has good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2000
Cut the amount of salt in half. This recipe is very close to the Porchetta that is made in the Abruzzi region of Italy, a specialty there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2002
We love this recipe. It is really flavourful, and we only used dried herbs. Also the cut of meat is not expensive. It is also easy and I just let it do it's own work sitting in the fridge. The marinating really makes this recipe. I halved the salt as was suggested. Caution, garlic lovers only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
I MADE THIS FOR MY FAMILY AND THAY ALL LOVED IT. IVE MADE IT TWO TIMES AND BVOTH TIMES IT CAME OUT GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
This Pork Roast recipe is awesome, I have served it a couple of times to guests and they always ask for the recipe. Very easy to make and if you plan ahead the three day marinading is well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Very easy to make and well-worth the little bit of planning to make it. Don't be tempted to cut the marinating time down in, it really makes the dish! The leftovers make divine sandwiches making it another reason to plan ahead to marinate it for 3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Porchetta

See Chef John’s simple, savory take on classic stuffed porchetta.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

The Best Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs with ground beef, veal, and pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States