Popularity Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I made these last night to test before taking them to a cookie exchange. Husband and Son went crazy and can't believe how much they taste like Almond Roca Candy. I wanted something quick, easy and different. These are it! Here is what I did and it made 3 dozen cookies. I lined a cookie sheet with tinfoil and sprayed a little bit of Pam on foil, used Club Crackers, light brown sugar, Land of Lakes butter,Nestle Tollhouse semi-sweet morsels (chopped-melts quicker)and slivered almonds(chopped). When brown sugar and butter were cooking I stirred mixture constantly for 3 minutes at a low boil. I then put sugar mixture in a measuring cup so it would be easier to pour on crackers. Put them in the oven for about 5 minutes, if you see the sugar mixture bubble on the crackers, don't worry it is ok. I take them out of the oven once or twice to push the crackers back in a square with a spatula. I pull them out of the oven and add the chopped morsels, put them back in the oven, turn off the oven and wait 4-5 min for chocolate to melt. I spread chocolate with spoon, add chopped nuts and refrigerate about 4-5 hours, or freeze for 1 hour. I then cut them into 36 squares with a pizza cutter and it works perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
YUMMY! I made these to include in the cookie trays I put together to give out as gifts. I had to HIDE them from my husband so that I would have enough for the trays! I used club crackers rather than saltines but otherwise followed the directions exactly. The first batch I made turned out perfectly. I must not have boiled the toffee long enough for the second batch because I ended up with a very sticky mess the second time. It's very important to start timing the 3 minutes when the mixture comes to a good boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Yummy! So easy. Instead of waiting 8 hours to eat (who could do that?), I popped the tray in the freezer for about a half hour and it did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeLee222

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I had a TON of crackers leftover from a party so when I found this recipe I decided "why not go for 100?!" Imagine toffee except not as hard, a cookie but not as sweet, and cooled hardened chocolate with your choice of topping, my favorite was coconut. Beware of over-indulgance & be sure to get all the foil off!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrystalGayle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I was a bit worried because I've had this cookie before where the soda cracker really stood out and was soggy and tasted stale. But this one was great! I would even say to let it stay in the ref. overnight. My husband took a bite at exactly the 8 hrs. mark and he felt that the cracker stood out. Today, it tastes like toffee and you can barely taste the cracker. Thanks! Great gifts for the teachers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Good toffee. The only problem I ran into was that my cookie sheet's sides weren't high enough: the sugar layer made the crackers spread out while cooking and they almost bubbled over the sides. Next time I'll make them in a 9x13 pan to trap the crackers in better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
oh my, how easy! I always make homemade toffee almond crunch for the holiday trays but d/t time constraints and the interest of the cracker, I decided to try these. I have to say that these are the closest thing to the homemade toffee crunch that one can get and much faster to make. Followed recipe exactly with no changes. I did grind the chips up in my food processor a bit d/t the extra time needed for melting and this was perfectly spreadable after 1 minute in the oven with the oven turned off. I was concerned about the crackers/toffee mixture shifting, but this was so easily repaired by just putting everything back in place with a spatula. *take care not to lift the utensil when spreading the chocolate. I found that when I lifted the spatula while spreading, the toffee would also lift up off the cracker. Thank you for this super easy recipe with an excellent taste just like homemade toffee. I too agree that salted saltines add to the whole toffee experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
UNBELIEVABLE!!!! I took these to a finger-food dinner at church last night and they cleaned the plate! As a matter of fact, when I got my empty plate back, someone had written me a note on a paper napkin: "These were wonderful! I would love the recipe" - then they signed it and put their phone number on it! I have never had such a reaction. My husband said he heard several people asking who made them! I will definitely be making these again! The only thing I did different than the recipe was I used sliced almonds which I chopped and then sauteed in butter. If I could give this recipe more stars I would...GREAT, GREAT, GREAT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Perfectly delicious cookie/bar. I just wish the recipe could have been more descriptive on the cooking of hte bars--After mine had come out of the oven and I'd had some time to think on it, I could have left them in the oven a tiny bit longer to get closer to the Heath bar-esque taste other reviewers have mentioned. When the crackers have been covered in the caramel and are baking in the oven, what you need to look for is when all the bars are bubbly and puffed up. Go a few seconds longer so that they can carmelize and that's when you know they're done. Regarding the chocolate chips, I took the hint of others and slid the whole pan back in the oven--worked well. Also only used semi-sweet chips as I think the milk chocolate would have been too sweet. Really, really interesting cookie to take to a potluck, no one else wil have brought a better sweet treat than you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
these are kick butt! These are even awesome with graham crackers! Everyone looks at this really weird at first and says "cracker?" and I tell them yeah but you know what you will love it! They do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States