Popularity Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
These aren't so much cookies as they are a crunchy toffee candy. They are quite tasty, though. One word of caution: she's not kidding when she says to watch the cookies closely when they're in the oven -- I had 3 batches start to burn on me, and then you have to throw the whole batch out. Oh! And a "soda" cracker is a saltine. I had to google to figure that one out. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
oh my, how easy! I always make homemade toffee almond crunch for the holiday trays but d/t time constraints and the interest of the cracker, I decided to try these. I have to say that these are the closest thing to the homemade toffee crunch that one can get and much faster to make. Followed recipe exactly with no changes. I did grind the chips up in my food processor a bit d/t the extra time needed for melting and this was perfectly spreadable after 1 minute in the oven with the oven turned off. I was concerned about the crackers/toffee mixture shifting, but this was so easily repaired by just putting everything back in place with a spatula. *take care not to lift the utensil when spreading the chocolate. I found that when I lifted the spatula while spreading, the toffee would also lift up off the cracker. Thank you for this super easy recipe with an excellent taste just like homemade toffee. I too agree that salted saltines add to the whole toffee experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
These are the next best thing to sliced bread! And so incredibly easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
EXCELLENT!!! When you first read the recipe you think "Soda crackers? How is that going to taste." Well, they are DELICIOUS! I made them for the first time last night and brought them to work for my boss's birthday. I made a double batch and not only are they all gone, 6 people have asked me for the recipe. This is a perfect recipe. They are easy to make and very appreciated by all. They have really made me popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
My husband said (twice) that this is the best dessert I've ever made. It tastes just like almond rocha; I can't believe how easy it was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I was a bit worried because I've had this cookie before where the soda cracker really stood out and was soggy and tasted stale. But this one was great! I would even say to let it stay in the ref. overnight. My husband took a bite at exactly the 8 hrs. mark and he felt that the cracker stood out. Today, it tastes like toffee and you can barely taste the cracker. Thanks! Great gifts for the teachers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Very tasty! I will definitely use again. Next time, I will DOUBLE layer the crackers. I used M&Ms on top instead of almonds - more fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Fabulous! I was looking for a way to get rid of leftover Easter chocolate and this recipe did the trick. I didn't have almonds on hand so did half coconut and half plain - both were wonderful! I halved the butter and sugar and still had plenty of caramel to cover a single jelly roll pan of crackers. I kept these in the fridge as the chocolate is a bit unstable (probably not the case when using regular chocolate chips) but they go fast! I definitely agree with Mommadonna that these are dangerous for your waistline - watch out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
This was 5 stars all the way! i had no idea they would turn out so wonderful. It was easy and fast to make and the directions were perfect. I used salted soda crackers and unblanched almonds but will experiment with other toppings the next time, maybe coconut. Will definately make these time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
I have made these several times, but in truth, I should never make them. I'll end up having to buy bigger pants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States