Popularity Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Very good! I left the nuts off, though and they tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
YUMMY! I made these to include in the cookie trays I put together to give out as gifts. I had to HIDE them from my husband so that I would have enough for the trays! I used club crackers rather than saltines but otherwise followed the directions exactly. The first batch I made turned out perfectly. I must not have boiled the toffee long enough for the second batch because I ended up with a very sticky mess the second time. It's very important to start timing the 3 minutes when the mixture comes to a good boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I have been making this recipe for two years now and people ask me for the recipe time after time. It is so easy and I can keep the ingredients on hand. I use 40 club crackers instead of soda crackers and I top it with chopped pecans instead of almonds. Boiling for 3 minutes is required or your toffee will not set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sondra
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I use a jelly roll pan for these, the sides are higher than a cookie sheet. You can change them up with different chips, nuts or whatever! Not that these need anything. They are always a hit and you're sure to bring home an empty plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I've made these for several years. They are pretty good, kids love them. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: La Vista, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I made these last night to test before taking them to a cookie exchange. Husband and Son went crazy and can't believe how much they taste like Almond Roca Candy. I wanted something quick, easy and different. These are it! Here is what I did and it made 3 dozen cookies. I lined a cookie sheet with tinfoil and sprayed a little bit of Pam on foil, used Club Crackers, light brown sugar, Land of Lakes butter,Nestle Tollhouse semi-sweet morsels (chopped-melts quicker)and slivered almonds(chopped). When brown sugar and butter were cooking I stirred mixture constantly for 3 minutes at a low boil. I then put sugar mixture in a measuring cup so it would be easier to pour on crackers. Put them in the oven for about 5 minutes, if you see the sugar mixture bubble on the crackers, don't worry it is ok. I take them out of the oven once or twice to push the crackers back in a square with a spatula. I pull them out of the oven and add the chopped morsels, put them back in the oven, turn off the oven and wait 4-5 min for chocolate to melt. I spread chocolate with spoon, add chopped nuts and refrigerate about 4-5 hours, or freeze for 1 hour. I then cut them into 36 squares with a pizza cutter and it works perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I think I must have made these wrong as they tasted like chocolate covered saltines to me w/ a very thin layer of toffee flaver. The saltines were very apparent and didnt absorb any of the toffee layer. Maybe I spread it too thin? Not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I made these with all semisweet chocolate...they're sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
BEWARE - These thing are addicting! Not only are they easy to make but they make a good size batch. Great for crowds. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I gave this recipe a four because I found the peices incredibly hard to make let alone cut. I had made it in a pyrex dish as someone had suggested so maybe that was the problem. Also my butter sugar mixture was difficult to even out throughout the cookies. Aside from that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States