Pop's Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
No one needs to add any chemicals or pickle crisp in their pickles. When washing your cucumbers cut the flower end off of it. There is an enzyme in it that will eventually cause your pickles to go soft. Everyone raves over mine and I haven't had a jar of pickles go soft for years even after being in the jar for a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Liz
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This is a really nice and adaptable pickle recipe. I had 14 3-4 pickling cukes from a friend and ended up with 4 pints of spears and two pints of chips. I used my v-slicer to cut the chips. I didn't bother with the cheesecloth because I like the way it looks to have the spices floating in the jar. I only used 1/4 cup of sugar because we don't really like sweet pickles, and I added a sprinkle of red pepper flakes for fun. I just used kosher salt because that's what I had. Next time I'm going to pop a few grape leaves in the jars too. The pickles are delicious, and it was fun to experiment with canning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I found this recipe on another site a few weeks ago. It was my first try at making pickles. It was super easy. I just tried my first pickle a couple days ago and they were fantastic. I liked them so much, I made another 8 jars last night. The recipe I made also called for mustard and celery seed. Not sure what the taste difference is; but it does add a nice look to the pickles in the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Stanton, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Oh my gosh - these are the BEST. I tried a Ball recipe on my first go round and ended up dumping them out. These are perfect! The difference is the white vinegar and less of the pickling spice. I did add 1/8 t. of Ball Pickle Crisp to each pint jar. They are crunchy, tart, delicious. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This was my first attempt at pickles, and I was NOT dissapointed! they were so awsome! I threw a couple small pieces of hot pepper in each jar, so they were a tad hot, but in a good way. They would have been great without the peppers too. Most definatly will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I just finished up 20 jars of these delicious pickles. They turned out fantastic! Just the right balance of sweet and sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
The Best, I added crushed red pepper flakes, 1/2 teaspoon of alum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Broadway, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
My family and I love these I made them once and had to make them again we add jalapeno peppers to ours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nannerbugmitchell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cambridge, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
These are crisp pickles.but I found out Ball has a jar of pickle crisp that you can add to each canning jar after filling the jars. I just bought some to use on my 16 quarts of pickles I canned yesterday. I found it at walmart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Great recipe. Will use it every year. I only had dill seed, so I used about two teaspoons per pint jar. I put two cloves of garlic in each jar. I like the garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Batter up your dills, and fry them to a deliciously crispy, golden-brown.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States